Rick Pluta http://wemu.org en Obamacare Ruling Won't Immediately Affect Michigan http://wemu.org/post/obamacare-ruling-wont-immediately-affect-michigan <p><strong>Court ruling on Obamacare tax breaks has no immediate effect in Michigan</strong><br /><br />An appeals court ruling Tuesday out of Washington DC could jeopardize tax subsidies that help nearly 240,000 Michiganders buy health coverage under Obamacare.</p><p></p><p></p> Wed, 23 Jul 2014 07:21:18 +0000 Rick Pluta 49208 at http://wemu.org Obamacare Ruling Won't Immediately Affect Michigan Report Details Factors Leading To Inmate Escape http://wemu.org/post/report-details-factors-leading-inmate-escape <p><strong>AG prison report cites human, technology errors as prime cause of inmate escape</strong><br /><br />A report by the Michigan Attorney General's office has found both human and technology failures played a part in the prison escape of a convicted murderer.</p><p></p><p></p> Tue, 22 Jul 2014 08:13:32 +0000 Rick Pluta 49141 at http://wemu.org Report Details Factors Leading To Inmate Escape Non-Union Construction Firms Attack Local Prevailing Wage Laws http://wemu.org/post/non-union-construction-firms-attack-local-prevailing-wage-laws <p><strong>Non-union builders challenge local wage floors</strong></p><p><br />An association of non-union construction companies has asked the state Supreme Court to strike down local prevailing wage laws. The Associated Builders and Contractors says a state law preempts the ordinances.</p><p></p><p></p> Wed, 16 Jul 2014 08:57:47 +0000 Rick Pluta 48836 at http://wemu.org Non-Union Construction Firms Attack Local Prevailing Wage Laws Governor Warns Of Possible Prison Food Service Contract Cancellation http://wemu.org/post/governor-warns-possible-prison-food-service-contract-cancellation <p><strong>Snyder: Prison food contract troubles are "unacceptable"</strong><br /><br />Governor Rick Snyder says a deal with a private contractor to provide food for state prisons could be terminated if there are future problems with the company. Aramark Food Services was awarded the $145 million, three-year contract last December. But the arrangement has been beset by problems since then.</p><p></p> Thu, 03 Jul 2014 09:47:14 +0000 Rick Pluta 48171 at http://wemu.org Governor Warns Of Possible Prison Food Service Contract Cancellation State Jobless Rate Up Slightly http://wemu.org/post/state-jobless-rate-slightly <p><strong>Michigan's jobless rate jumps very slightly to 7.5 percent</strong><br /><br />Michigan's monthly unemployment rate has edged up slightly 7.5 percent. It's a statistically small nudge of one-tenth of a percentage point, and most of the change is attributed to more people looking for jobs.</p><p></p><p></p> Thu, 19 Jun 2014 08:44:01 +0000 Rick Pluta 47544 at http://wemu.org State Jobless Rate Up Slightly Court Costs May Only Be Ordered For Defendants If Allowed By Legislature http://wemu.org/post/court-costs-may-only-be-ordered-defendants-if-allowed-legislature <p><strong>MI Supreme Court: Judges can't impose fines for court costs on their own</strong><br /><br />The Michigan Supreme Court says judges can't order people convicted of a crime to pay the costs to the legal system -- unless it's been specifically allowed by the Legislature.</p><p></p><p></p> Thu, 19 Jun 2014 08:43:46 +0000 Rick Pluta 47545 at http://wemu.org Court Costs May Only Be Ordered For Defendants If Allowed By Legislature State Supreme Court To Hear Two More Medical Marijuana Cases http://wemu.org/post/state-supreme-court-hear-two-more-medical-marijuana-cases <p><strong>Michigan Supreme Court takes two more medical marijuana cases</strong><br /><br />The state Supreme Court has agreed to hear two more medical marijuana cases. Two medical marijuana cardholders want the state's highest court to rule that a voter-approved law shields them from criminal charges.</p><p></p><p></p> Fri, 13 Jun 2014 08:47:25 +0000 Rick Pluta 47250 at http://wemu.org State Supreme Court To Hear Two More Medical Marijuana Cases Governor Snyder Not Fan Of Restoring MEAP Test http://wemu.org/post/governor-snyder-not-fan-restoring-meap-test <p><strong>Snyder: Restoring MEAP test not his preference</strong><br /><br />Governor Rick Snyder says he's not giving up on plans to change Michigan's standardized student test. That's despite a provision in the School Aid budget that lawmakers could send to the governor soon. It says schools have to stick with the current test - the MEAP -- for at least another year.</p><p></p><p></p> Thu, 12 Jun 2014 12:43:37 +0000 Rick Pluta 47186 at http://wemu.org Governor Snyder Not Fan Of Restoring MEAP Test Road Funding Discussions Dredge Up 'Right To Work' http://wemu.org/post/road-funding-discussions-dredge-right-work <p><strong>'Right to work' part of discussions on roads package</strong><br /><br />Negotiations between Republicans and Democrats at the state Capitol over road funding may have resurrected the controversy over Michigan's right-to-work law.</p><p></p><p></p> Wed, 11 Jun 2014 09:24:24 +0000 Rick Pluta 47123 at http://wemu.org Road Funding Discussions Dredge Up 'Right To Work' State Working To Improve Fine Collection System http://wemu.org/post/state-working-improve-fine-collection-system <p><strong>Michigan Supreme Court names workgroup to improve system for collecting fines</strong><br /><br />A group of judges, prosecutors, and defense attorneys goes to work Thursday on finding new and better ways to collect fines and fees from defendants, and to ensure that people are not sent to jail because they don't have the money to pay.</p><p></p><p></p> Wed, 04 Jun 2014 23:57:49 +0000 Rick Pluta 46867 at http://wemu.org State Working To Improve Fine Collection System Supreme Court Says Decision To Commute Sentence Final http://wemu.org/post/supreme-court-says-decision-commute-sentence-final <p><strong>MI Supreme Court says governor cannot un-commute life sentence</strong><br /><br />The Michigan Supreme Court says a governor cannot take back a decision to commute a prison sentence once the papers are signed and filed.</p><p></p><p></p> Wed, 04 Jun 2014 00:16:18 +0000 Rick Pluta 46816 at http://wemu.org Supreme Court Says Decision To Commute Sentence Final 'One Parent' Doctrine Struck Down By Michigan Supreme Court http://wemu.org/post/one-parent-doctrine-struck-down-michigan-supreme-court <p><strong>Michigan Supreme Court strikes down "one parent" doctrine</strong><br /><br />A Jackson County man will get a trial on whether he gets to keep his kids after a ruling by&nbsp; the Michigan Supreme Court.</p><p></p><p></p> Wed, 04 Jun 2014 00:12:27 +0000 Rick Pluta 46815 at http://wemu.org 'One Parent' Doctrine Struck Down By Michigan Supreme Court Michigan Legislature OKs Minimum Wage Hike http://wemu.org/post/michigan-legislature-oks-minimum-wage-hike <p><strong>Legislature approves $9.25 Michigan minimum wage</strong><br /><br />Gov. Rick Snyder is expected to quickly sign a bill increases the Michigan minimum raise as a petition campaign is about to file signatures to force the wage floor even higher.</p><p></p> Tue, 27 May 2014 23:46:38 +0000 Rick Pluta & Jake Neher 46487 at http://wemu.org Michigan Legislature OKs Minimum Wage Hike Detroit Bailout Vote Pending In Lansing http://wemu.org/post/detroit-bailout-vote-pending-lansing <p><strong>Lawmakers could cast first votes on Detroit bailout</strong><br /><br />There could be a first vote Wednesday in the Legislature on an almost 200 (m) million dollar bailout for the city of Detroit. Mayor Mike Duggan was one of those who testified prior to the historic vote. Duggan says, overall, he supports the plan.</p><p></p><p></p> Tue, 20 May 2014 23:20:25 +0000 Rick Pluta 46164 at http://wemu.org Detroit Bailout Vote Pending In Lansing State Senate Considers Road Funding Increase http://wemu.org/post/state-senate-considers-road-funding-increase <p><strong>State Senate could triple road funding increase passed by House</strong><br /><br /><br />The Michigan Senate could vote this week on bills that would increase state funding for roads by $1.3-1.4 billion a year. That's almost triple the amount recently approved by the state House.</p><p></p><p></p> Mon, 19 May 2014 23:35:00 +0000 Jake Neher & Rick Pluta 46103 at http://wemu.org State Senate Considers Road Funding Increase Conference Confirms Revenue Reduction http://wemu.org/post/conference-confirms-revenue-reduction <p><strong>Michigan's economy improves, but at a slower pace</strong><br /><br />The long, harsh winter slowed the state's economic recovery. And it took a bite out of tax revenues, leaving Governor Rick Snyder and the Legislature with about $300 million less to work with as they put the finishing touches on a new state budget.</p><p></p><p></p> Fri, 16 May 2014 01:35:55 +0000 Rick Pluta 45920 at http://wemu.org Conference Confirms Revenue Reduction Kevyn Orr Pushing Detroit Bailout In Lansing http://wemu.org/post/kevyn-orr-pushing-detroit-bailout-lansing <p><strong>Detroit EM tries to sell bailout to lawmakers</strong><br /><br />Detroit Emergency Manager Kevyn Orr is spending a couple of days in Lansing for closed-door meetings with state officials. He's primary mission is to convince reluctant state lawmakers to support the Detroit bailout package.</p><p></p><p></p> Wed, 30 Apr 2014 00:16:54 +0000 Rick Pluta 45142 at http://wemu.org Kevyn Orr Pushing Detroit Bailout In Lansing Peters Files Petitions For U.S. Senate Run http://wemu.org/post/peters-files-petitions-us-senate-run <p><strong>Peters files nominating petitions for US Senate</strong><br /><br />Congressman Gary Peters has filed petition signatures to put his name on the ballot. Peters is a Democrat running to succeed retiring US Senator Carl Levin. Peters' support for the federal healthcare law has been an issue in the campaign. Peters says that's OK with him.<br /> Tue, 22 Apr 2014 00:20:15 +0000 Rick Pluta 44730 at http://wemu.org Snyder Files For Re-Election http://wemu.org/post/snyder-files-re-election <p><strong>Snyder files for reelection</strong><br /><br />Governor Rick Snyder has filed 26 thousand petition signatures to put his name on the Republican primary ballot in August, and - if all goes as planned - make him a candidate for reelection in November.</p><p></p><p><br />The governor was joined by Michigan First Lady Sue Snyder, Lt. Gov. Brian Calley, and a couple dozen supporters to cart boxes of petitions into the state Bureau of Elections.<br /><br />Snyder says he intends to run on his record and the state's improving economy.</p><p></p> Thu, 17 Apr 2014 23:57:55 +0000 Rick Pluta 44553 at http://wemu.org Snyder Files For Re-Election Gay Michigan Couple Hopes To Force State To Recognize Their Marriage http://wemu.org/post/gay-michigan-couple-hopes-force-state-recognize-their-marriage <p><strong>Gay couple trying to force state to recognize their marriage, "for our 13 kids"</strong></p><p><br />The ACLU of Michigan is suing the state to force it to recognize the marriages of about 300 same-sex couples who got married last month.</p><p></p><p></p> Tue, 15 Apr 2014 00:48:24 +0000 Jake Neher & Rick Pluta 44383 at http://wemu.org Gay Michigan Couple Hopes To Force State To Recognize Their Marriage Attorney General Seeks Rapid Ruling On Same-Sex Marriages http://wemu.org/post/attorney-general-seeks-rapid-ruling-same-sex-marriages <p><strong>Schuette asks for fast action marriage case</strong></p><p></p><p>State Attorney General Bill Schuette has asked a federal appeals court to put the legal challenge to Michigan’s ban on same-sex marriage on a fast track. Schuette is defending Michigan’s ban.</p><p></p><p></p><p></p> Fri, 04 Apr 2014 23:22:11 +0000 Rick Pluta 43933 at http://wemu.org Attorney General Seeks Rapid Ruling On Same-Sex Marriages Michigan Reponds To Corps Of Engineers Carp Proposal http://wemu.org/post/michigan-reponds-corps-engineers-carp-proposal <p><strong>Michigan replies to Army corps invasive species report</strong><br /><br /><br />Michigan Attorney General Bill Schuette has filed the state's response to the US Army Corps of Engineers invasive species report. Schuette says his biggest complaint is the report fails to outline an aggressive plan to stop Asian carp from reaching the Great Lakes.</p><p></p><p></p> Wed, 02 Apr 2014 00:06:28 +0000 Rick Pluta 43766 at http://wemu.org Michigan Reponds To Corps Of Engineers Carp Proposal Out-Of-State Residents May Circulate Petitions In Michigan http://wemu.org/post/out-state-residents-may-circulate-petitions-michigan <p><strong>Judge dismisses lawsuit against Michigan petition circulator law</strong><br />By Rick Pluta<br /><br />A bill to let out-of-state residents gather petitions signatures is awaiting Governor Rick Snyder's signature. Because of the bill, a federal judge has dismissed a lawsuit filed against the state.</p><p></p><p></p> Tue, 01 Apr 2014 23:59:39 +0000 Rick Pluta 43764 at http://wemu.org Out-Of-State Residents May Circulate Petitions In Michigan Another Republican Michigan Congressman Announces Retirement http://wemu.org/post/another-republican-michigan-congressman-announces-retirement <p>WASHINGTON (AP) - Rep. Dave Camp, the chairman of the House Ways and Means Committee, says he will not seek another term.</p><p></p><p></p> Mon, 31 Mar 2014 23:59:35 +0000 Associated Press & Rick Pluta 43698 at http://wemu.org Another Republican Michigan Congressman Announces Retirement Congressional Democrats Seek Federal Acknowledgement of Same-Sex Marriages http://wemu.org/post/congressional-democrats-seek-federal-acknowledgement-same-sex-marriages <p><strong>Congressional Democrats ask Holder to recognize MI gay marriages</strong><br />Rick Pluta<br /><br />Some congressional Democrats are putting pressure on Michigan to recognize more than 300 same-sex marriages performed last weekend. They sent a letter today asking US Attorney General Eric Holder to grant federal recognition of the marriages.</p><p></p><p></p> Fri, 28 Mar 2014 00:48:44 +0000 Rick Pluta 43526 at http://wemu.org Congressional Democrats Seek Federal Acknowledgement of Same-Sex Marriages