Jake Neher http://wemu.org en State Elections Board Says 'No' To Minimum Wage, 'Yes' To Wolf Hunting http://wemu.org/post/state-elections-board-says-no-minimum-wage-yes-wolf-hunting <p><strong>$10.10/hour minimum wage petition shot down by state elections board</strong><br /><br /><br />A state elections board has rejected a petition to raise Michigan's minimum wage to $10.10 an hour.</p><p></p><p></p> Fri, 25 Jul 2014 10:43:29 +0000 Jake Neher 49328 at http://wemu.org State Elections Board Says 'No' To Minimum Wage, 'Yes' To Wolf Hunting Governor Praises Pensioners For Approving 'Grand Bargain' http://wemu.org/post/governor-praises-pensioners-approving-grand-bargain <p><strong>Snyder: Pensioner approval of grand bargain sets Detroit up for faster recovery</strong><br /><br /><br />Gov. Rick Snyder is praising Detroit pensioners for approving the city's bankruptcy restructuring plan.</p><p></p><p></p> Wed, 23 Jul 2014 07:21:52 +0000 Jake Neher 49207 at http://wemu.org Governor Praises Pensioners For Approving 'Grand Bargain' Hospital Infection Rates May Be Made Available To Public http://wemu.org/post/hospital-infection-rates-may-be-made-available-public <p><strong>State could become more transparent about infection rates at hospitals</strong><br /><br /><br />The state's top health official says Michigan could be more transparent about how many people get infections while at hospitals.</p><p></p><p></p> Mon, 21 Jul 2014 09:16:39 +0000 Jake Neher 49028 at http://wemu.org Hospital Infection Rates May Be Made Available To Public New Legal Assistance Available For Veterans And Military http://wemu.org/post/new-legal-assistance-available-veterans-and-military <p><strong>State attorney general's office unveils law guides for vets and military personnel</strong><br /><br /><br />Michigan veterans and active duty military families now have new resources to help handle legal issues. Michigan Attorney General Bill Schuette released two new legal guides Thursday.</p><p></p> Fri, 18 Jul 2014 08:30:23 +0000 Jake Neher 48968 at http://wemu.org New Legal Assistance Available For Veterans And Military Michigan Attorney General Mum On Medical Marijuana Opposition http://wemu.org/post/michigan-attorney-general-mum-medical-marijuana-opposition <p><strong>AG Schuette won't give details on his opposition to medical marijuana bills</strong><br /><br /><br />The state attorney general is not saying why he opposes bills that would ease restrictions on medical marijuana in Michigan. Some top lawmakers are now urging Bill Schuette to detail his concerns.</p><p></p><p></p> Fri, 18 Jul 2014 08:29:43 +0000 Jake Neher 48967 at http://wemu.org Michigan Attorney General Mum On Medical Marijuana Opposition Medical Marijuana Bills Clear Senate Panel http://wemu.org/post/medical-marijuana-bills-clear-senate-panel <p><strong>Future of medical marijuana bills uncertain after clearing state Senate panel</strong></p><p></p><p>Two bills that would ease restrictions on medical marijuana in Michigan are one step closer to becoming law. A state Senate panel approved the legislation Wednesday.</p><p></p><p></p> Thu, 17 Jul 2014 10:24:48 +0000 Jake Neher 48901 at http://wemu.org Medical Marijuana Bills Clear Senate Panel State Senate Panel Returns This Week To Vote On Medical Marijuana Bills http://wemu.org/post/state-senate-panel-returns-week-vote-medical-marijuana-bills <p><strong><em>Medical Marijuana Dispensaries&nbsp;could soon become legal, after GOP change of heart</em></strong></p><p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">The state Legislature returns this week for its only scheduled session day in July. A state Senate panel is likely to vote on bills that would relax restrictions on medical marijuana.</span></p><div> Mon, 14 Jul 2014 14:04:39 +0000 Jake Neher 48741 at http://wemu.org State Senate Panel Returns This Week To Vote On Medical Marijuana Bills Expansion Of Medicaid Exceeding Expectations http://wemu.org/post/expansion-medicaid-exceeding-expectations <p><strong>Medicaid expansion sign-ups hit one-year target in just four months</strong></p><p><br />In less than four months, Michigan has already hit its 2014 enrollment goal for the state's expanded Medicaid program.</p><p></p><p></p> Fri, 11 Jul 2014 15:16:13 +0000 Jake Neher 48616 at http://wemu.org Expansion Of Medicaid Exceeding Expectations Audit Points To Failings At Michigan Department Of Human Services http://wemu.org/post/audit-points-failings-michigan-department-human-services <p><strong>Another audit says Michigan has failed to protect vulnerable adults</strong><br /><br /><br />Gov. Rick Snyder's administration is again taking heat for failing to protect vulnerable adults.</p><p></p><p></p> Thu, 10 Jul 2014 09:13:34 +0000 Jake Neher 48540 at http://wemu.org Audit Points To Failings At Michigan Department Of Human Services State Schools Superintendent Has Warning For Charter School Authorizers http://wemu.org/post/state-schools-superintendent-has-warning-charter-school-authorizers <p><strong>State superintendent predicts institutions will lose ability to charter schools</strong><br /><br />The top education official in Michigan says there's a good chance some institutions will lose their authority to create charter schools.</p><p></p><p></p> Wed, 09 Jul 2014 12:26:29 +0000 Jake Neher 48487 at http://wemu.org State Schools Superintendent Has Warning For Charter School Authorizers Good News, Bad News In State Test Data http://wemu.org/post/good-news-bad-news-state-test-data <p><strong>High schoolers' test scores up in all areas, many still not ready for college</strong><br /><br /><br />Michigan high school juniors are improving in all core academic subjects. That's according to standardized test results released Monday.</p><p></p> Tue, 08 Jul 2014 08:31:36 +0000 Jake Neher 48427 at http://wemu.org Good News, Bad News In State Test Data Michigan School Superintendents Want Budget Re-Do http://wemu.org/post/michigan-school-superintendents-want-budget-re-do <p><strong>Superintendents blast education budget</strong><br /><br /><br />As Michigan schools begin their new budget year this week, some local superintendents are urging lawmakers to return from their summer break to boost education funding.</p><p></p><p></p> Thu, 03 Jul 2014 09:47:40 +0000 Jake Neher 48170 at http://wemu.org Michigan School Superintendents Want Budget Re-Do Home-Aid Workers To Undergo Background Checks http://wemu.org/post/home-aid-workers-undergo-background-checks <p><strong>Background checks coming for home-aid workers, state can't exclude all felons</strong><br /><br /><br />Michigan cannot ban all felons from being caregivers in the state's Medicaid in-home care program. That's according to state officials who outlined an upcoming background check system on Monday.</p><p></p><p></p> Tue, 01 Jul 2014 12:28:05 +0000 Jake Neher 48123 at http://wemu.org Home-Aid Workers To Undergo Background Checks Schauer Speaks Out On Charter School Regulation http://wemu.org/post/schauer-speaks-out-charter-school-regulation <p><strong>Schauer says he'd push stricter regulations on charter schools as governor</strong><br /><br /><br />Former Congressman Mark Schauer says he would put tougher regulations on charter schools if he's elected governor. The Battle Creek Democrat says Gov. Rick Snyder has given bad charter operators a "free pass."</p><p></p><p></p> Fri, 27 Jun 2014 08:23:36 +0000 Jake Neher 47968 at http://wemu.org Schauer Speaks Out On Charter School Regulation Economists: Michigan Didn't Think Ending Public Employee Pensions Through http://wemu.org/post/economists-michigan-didnt-think-ending-public-employee-pensions-through <p><strong>Michigan economists warn against ending pensions for public employees</strong><br /><br /><br />Some economists say Michigan failed to consider the consequences of ending pension plans for public workers.</p><p></p><p></p> Tue, 24 Jun 2014 23:40:55 +0000 Jake Neher 47836 at http://wemu.org Economists: Michigan Didn't Think Ending Public Employee Pensions Through Office To Help Skilled immigrants Find Work In Michigan http://wemu.org/post/office-help-skilled-immigrants-find-work-michigan <p><strong>Michigan welcomes office to help skilled immigrants get jobs</strong><br /><br />Highly skilled immigrants in Michigan now have a new resource to help them find jobs. The national nonprofit organization Upwardly Global opened a new office in Detroit on Monday.</p><p></p><p></p> Mon, 23 Jun 2014 23:27:19 +0000 Jake Neher 47765 at http://wemu.org Office To Help Skilled immigrants Find Work In Michigan Official: Snyder Not To Blame For Home Care Flubs http://wemu.org/post/official-snyder-not-blame-home-care-flubs <p><strong>State health director says Snyder not to blame for home care failings</strong><br /><br />Michigan's top health official is defending Gov. Rick Snyder amid claims his administration put in-home care patients in danger.</p><p></p><p></p> Thu, 19 Jun 2014 08:43:33 +0000 Jake Neher 47546 at http://wemu.org Official: Snyder Not To Blame For Home Care Flubs Expanded Medicaid Enrollment Soars http://wemu.org/post/expanded-medicaid-enrollment-soars <p><strong>Sign-ups for expanded Medicaid program soar over 300,000</strong><br /><br /><br />More than 300,000 low-income Michiganders have signed up for the state's expanded Medicaid program.</p><p></p> Thu, 19 Jun 2014 08:43:20 +0000 Jake Neher 47547 at http://wemu.org Expanded Medicaid Enrollment Soars Audit: State Misspent In-Home Care Funding http://wemu.org/post/audit-state-misspent-home-care-funding <p><strong>Audit slams state for $160 million in improper payments for in-home care</strong><br /><br /><br />Two state departments are under fire for mismanaging a program that provides in-home care for Medicaid patients.</p><p></p><p></p> Wed, 18 Jun 2014 07:23:00 +0000 Jake Neher 47486 at http://wemu.org Audit: State Misspent In-Home Care Funding Governor Requests More Help For Refugees http://wemu.org/post/governor-requests-more-help-refugees <p><strong>Snyder: More needs to be done to help refugees in Michigan</strong><br /><br /><br />The number of refugees who have settled in Michigan has grown in recent years - and Governor Rick Snyder says more should be done to help them.</p><p></p><p></p> Tue, 17 Jun 2014 08:32:43 +0000 Jake Neher 47423 at http://wemu.org Governor Requests More Help For Refugees Richardville: More Funding For Film Incentives http://wemu.org/post/richardville-more-funding-film-incentives <p><strong>Michigan film incentives to stay at $50 million, Senate leader wants more</strong><br /><br />The top Republican in the state Senate says he's not satisfied with the amount of money lawmakers have set aside for film and TV productions.</p><p></p><p></p> Wed, 11 Jun 2014 09:24:41 +0000 Jake Neher 47124 at http://wemu.org Richardville: More Funding For Film Incentives Road Funding Deal May Have To Wait http://wemu.org/post/road-funding-deal-may-have-wait <p><strong>Gov. Snyder eyes road funding deal this week</strong><br /><br /><br />Gov. Rick Snyder wants a road funding solution on his desk by the end of this week.</p><p></p><p></p> Tue, 10 Jun 2014 08:21:02 +0000 Jake Neher 47063 at http://wemu.org Road Funding Deal May Have To Wait State Schools Superintendent: Schools' Finances Stabilizing http://wemu.org/post/state-schools-superintendent-schools-finances-stabilizing <p><strong>Michigan schools' finances "stabilizing," says state superintendent</strong><br /><br /><br />Late last year, the state's top education official had dire predictions for the finances of Michigan schools. He predicted the number of districts in deficit could reach 100 "before long."</p><p></p><p></p> Fri, 06 Jun 2014 11:26:39 +0000 Jake Neher 46932 at http://wemu.org State Schools Superintendent: Schools' Finances Stabilizing Road Funding Up In The Air In Lansing http://wemu.org/post/road-funding-air-lansing <p><strong>Road funding talks in flux at state Capitol</strong><br /><br /><br />It looked like there might be a wave of bipartisan cooperation in Lansing. Lawmakers recently voted to raise the state's minimum wage and contribute almost $200 million to help Detroit emerge from bankruptcy.</p><p></p><p></p> Wed, 04 Jun 2014 23:53:44 +0000 Jake Neher 46865 at http://wemu.org Road Funding Up In The Air In Lansing Governor Defends Taxing Of Pensions http://wemu.org/post/governor-defends-taxing-pensions <p><strong>Snyder defends "pension tax" in special message on aging</strong><br /><br /><br />Gov. Rick Snyder is firing back against critics of his so-called "pension tax."</p><p></p><p></p> Mon, 02 Jun 2014 23:53:56 +0000 Jake Neher 46768 at http://wemu.org Governor Defends Taxing Of Pensions