schools http://wemu.org en Layoff Notices for Ann Arbor School Employees http://wemu.org/post/layoff-notices-ann-arbor-school-employees <p>Ann Arbor Public Schools are sending layoff notices to 233 teachers but are hoping the layoffs won't be necessary.&nbsp;</p><p>Last night, the school board unanimously passed a layoff notices authorization. More from WEMU's Andrew Cluley:</p><p></p> Thu, 23 May 2013 15:10:28 +0000 Andrew Cluley 29804 at http://wemu.org Issues of the Environment: Where are the safe routes to school? http://wemu.org/post/issues-environment-where-are-safe-routes-school <p>Grants encourage students to walk or bike to school rather than ride in a car or school bus.&nbsp;&nbsp; First ward Ann Arbor city council member Sabra Briere is our guest this week on Issues of the Environment from WEMU.</p><p></p><p></p> Wed, 24 Apr 2013 13:36:21 +0000 Clark Smith 28455 at http://wemu.org Issues of the Environment: Where are the safe routes to school? Technology Audit for Ypsi-Willow Run Schools http://wemu.org/post/technology-audit-ypsi-willow-run-schools <p>The unified Ypsilanti-Willow Run school board has approved a technology audit.&nbsp; Hear more on the audit's findings from WEMU's Bob Eccles.</p><p></p> Fri, 11 Jan 2013 13:42:38 +0000 Bob Eccles 24135 at http://wemu.org State Poised to Help New Ypsilanti-Willow Run School District http://wemu.org/post/state-poised-help-new-ypsilanti-willow-run-school-district <p>Washtenaw Intermediate School District Superintendent Scott Mensel met with state Treasurer Andy Dillon earlier this week, seeking assistance in wiping out an operational deficit in the newly combined Ypsilanti-Willow Run school district.&nbsp;&nbsp; Hear more from WEMU's Bob Eccles.</p><p></p> Thu, 20 Dec 2012 13:48:12 +0000 Bob Eccles 23372 at http://wemu.org Perry CDC and Other Schools May Stay Open Next Year http://wemu.org/post/perry-cdc-and-other-schools-may-stay-open-next-year <p>The Superintendent of the Washtenaw Intermediate School District is recommending that the unified Ypsilanti-Willow Run school board keep Perry Child Development Center and the elementary schools in the consolidated district open next school year.&nbsp; Hear more from WEMU's Bob Eccles.</p><p></p> Tue, 18 Dec 2012 17:58:48 +0000 Bob Eccles 23283 at http://wemu.org Students Weigh In on Consolidation http://wemu.org/post/students-weigh-consolidation <p>Most may not be old enough to vote, but a majorityof students at one Ypsilanti school appear to support the proposed Ypsilanti-Willow Run schools consolidation.&nbsp; Hear more from WEMU's Andrew Cluley.</p> Tue, 23 Oct 2012 13:41:40 +0000 Andrew Cluley 21066 at http://wemu.org Healthy Schools Program Expanding http://wemu.org/post/healthy-schools-program-expanding <p>A program that began in Ann Arbor back in 2004 with the goal of getting middle school students to eat better and excercise more is expanding into south-central Michigan.&nbsp; Hear more from WEMU's Bob Eccles.</p> Thu, 06 Sep 2012 13:48:11 +0000 Bob Eccles 19098 at http://wemu.org Financially Shaky School Year Start in Ypsilanti http://wemu.org/post/financially-shaky-school-year-start-ypsilanti <p>Today is the first day of school for students in the Ypsilanti school district, and it looks like teachers and staff will get paid,( this month).&nbsp; Hear more from WEMU's Bob Eccles.</p> Wed, 05 Sep 2012 12:36:21 +0000 Bob Eccles 19036 at http://wemu.org Roberto Clement Move Opposed http://wemu.org/post/roberto-clement-move-opposed <p>Possible move of Roberto Clemente Student Development Center</p><p>faces strong opposition.</p> Thu, 10 May 2012 13:34:39 +0000 Andrew Cluley 13671 at http://wemu.org Voters Approve A2 Schools Technology Bond http://wemu.org/post/voters-approve-a2-schools-technology-bond <p>Bond issue approved by large margin in Ann Arbor school district.</p> Wed, 09 May 2012 13:51:05 +0000 Andrew Cluley 13620 at http://wemu.org A2 Schools Technology Bond on Tuesday's Ballot http://wemu.org/post/a2-schools-technology-bond-tuesdays-ballot <p>Ann Arbor school district voters to decide technology bond issue.</p> Mon, 07 May 2012 15:32:17 +0000 Andrew Cluley 13500 at http://wemu.org WISD Needs to Improve Busing Services http://wemu.org/post/wisd-needs-improve-busing-services <p>Survey shows dissatisfaction with school busing in three districts served by the WISD.</p> Fri, 27 Apr 2012 17:54:21 +0000 Andrew Cluley 13095 at http://wemu.org