city council http://wemu.org en Ann Arbor Officials Seek Conflict Of Interest Policy For City Council Members http://wemu.org/post/ann-arbor-officials-seek-conflict-interest-policy-city-council-members <p><span style="font-family: 'trebuchet ms', sans-serif; font-size: 16px; line-height: normal;">An Ann Arbor City Council member plans to introduce a resolution to create a conflict of interest policy for council members at their next meeting. &nbsp;</span></p><p><span style="font-family: 'trebuchet ms', sans-serif; font-size: 16px; line-height: normal;">WEMU's Andrew Cluley has more:</span><br style="font-family: 'trebuchet ms', sans-serif; font-size: 16px; line-height: normal;" />&nbsp;</p><p> Tue, 29 Oct 2013 18:02:42 +0000 Andrew Cluley 36975 at http://wemu.org Ann Arbor Officials Seek Conflict Of Interest Policy For City Council Members A2 City Council Halts Meeting Before Vote http://wemu.org/post/a2-city-council-halts-meeting-vote <p> Lengthy public hearings on a proposed apartment complex development at 413 East Huron have prevented Ann Arbor City Council from taking action on the matter. As WEMU's Andrew Cluley reports, for a second meeting in a row, council last night halted its session prior to finishing up the nights agenda.</p> Tue, 07 May 2013 14:37:39 +0000 Andrew Cluley 29031 at http://wemu.org Ann Arbor DDA Ordinances Postponed http://wemu.org/post/ann-arbor-dda-ordinances-postponed <p></p><p></p><p>A decision on ordinances effecting the way the Ann Arbor Downtown Development Authority operates has been postponed until September. As WEMU's Andrew Cluley reports, Ann Arbor City Council last night voted unanimously to delay consideration of the issues.</p><p></p> Tue, 07 May 2013 14:24:36 +0000 Andrew Cluley 29029 at http://wemu.org Ann Arbor DDA Ordinances Postponed City Selling Bonds to Fund 'PACE' Program http://wemu.org/post/city-selling-bonds-fund-pace-program <p>Ann Arbor businesses can tap into a new city fund to cover upfront costs for energy efficiency upgrades.&nbsp; Hear more from WEMU's Andrew Cluley.</p><p><a href="http://www.a2gov.org/government/publicservices/systems_planning/energy/Pages/PACE.aspx">Ann Arbor Pace Program</a></p> Mon, 04 Mar 2013 13:52:51 +0000 Andrew Cluley 26283 at http://wemu.org City Selling Bonds to Fund 'PACE' Program Council Approves Transit Study Funding http://wemu.org/post/council-approves-transit-study-funding <p>Ann Arbor's city council has approved funding to serve as the local match for a pair of studies on public transit.&nbsp; Hear more from WEMU's Andrew Cluley.</p> Tue, 16 Oct 2012 17:01:15 +0000 Andrew Cluley 20793 at http://wemu.org Updating A2 Non-Motorized Plan http://wemu.org/post/updating-a2-non-motorized-plan <p>Ann Arbor's city council is considering updates to the city's non-motorized transportation plan.&nbsp; Hear more from WEMU's Andrew Cluley.</p> Tue, 09 Oct 2012 16:39:13 +0000 Andrew Cluley 20493 at http://wemu.org Council Postpones Affordable Housing Funding Plan http://wemu.org/post/council-postpones-affordable-housing-funding-plan <p>Ann Arbor's city council has postponed a decision on a policy to commit the bulk of funds raised from the sale of public lands for affordable housing.&nbsp; WEMU's Andrew Cluley has more.</p> Tue, 18 Sep 2012 15:40:28 +0000 Andrew Cluley 19611 at http://wemu.org Rapid Transit Connector Plan Back Before Council http://wemu.org/post/rapid-transit-connector-plan-back-council <p>Ann Arbor's city council has brought back a plan to study a possible high-capacity rapid transit connector, but has not take a final vote on the issue.&nbsp; Hear more from WEMU's Andrew Cluley.</p> Tue, 18 Sep 2012 15:37:13 +0000 Andrew Cluley 19610 at http://wemu.org City to Remove Sediment from Millers Creek http://wemu.org/post/city-remove-sediment-millers-creek <p>Ann Arbor officials plan to remove some sediment from Millers Creek to help alleviate flooding over Geddes Road near Huron Parkway.&nbsp; Hear more from WEMU's Andrew Cluley.</p> Fri, 14 Sep 2012 13:00:53 +0000 Andrew Cluley 19465 at http://wemu.org Transit Study Defeated http://wemu.org/post/transit-study-defeated <p>Ann Arbor's city council has rejected paying 60-thousand dollars to help fund a study on a possible high-capacity rapid transit connector, but the issue may come back when more council members are present.&nbsp; Hear more from WEMU's Andrew Cluley.</p> Wed, 05 Sep 2012 12:39:57 +0000 Andrew Cluley 19037 at http://wemu.org Transit Study Defeated A2 Arts Millage Headed to November Ballot http://wemu.org/post/a2-arts-millage-headed-november-ballot <p>Ann Arbor voters will decide proposed new arts millage in November.</p> Tue, 21 Aug 2012 12:02:10 +0000 Andrew Cluley 18361 at http://wemu.org A2 City Council Preview http://wemu.org/post/a2-city-council-preview <p>Ann Arbor City Council tonight will hold a rare Thursday meeting. The primary elections on Tuesday forced council to shift its meeting this week.&nbsp; It&#39;s a full agenda tonight and WEMU&#39;s Andrew Cluley has a preview.</p> Thu, 09 Aug 2012 14:20:33 +0000 Andrew Cluley 17775 at http://wemu.org Ann Arbor Primary Results http://wemu.org/post/ann-arbor-primary-results <p>ANN ARBOR CITY COUNCIL WILL BE GETTING THREE NEW FACES AS A RESULT OF YESTERDAY&#39;S PRIMARY ELECTIONS.&nbsp;</p><p>IN ANN ARBOR&#39;S FIRST WARD SUMI KAILASAPATHY&nbsp; DEFEATED ERIC STURGIS WITH 58 PERCENT OF THE VOTE.</p><p>SECOND WARD INCUMBENT TONY DEREZINSKI FELL TO SALLY HART PETERSEN, 55 PERCENT TO 45 PERCENT.</p><p>THE FIFTH WARD SAW CHUCK WARPEHOSKI CLAIM 56 PERCENT OF THE VOTE OVER VIVIENNE ARMENTROUT.&nbsp; WARPEHOSKI WILL FACE&nbsp; REPUBLICAN STUART BERRY IN THE NOVEMBER GENERAL ELECTION.</p> Wed, 08 Aug 2012 07:28:23 +0000 Andrew Cluley 17678 at http://wemu.org A2 2nd Ward Primary Race http://wemu.org/post/a2-2nd-ward-primary-race <p>Primary election day is less than a week away. In Ann Arbor&#39;s 2nd Ward, voters will choose between Incumbent Tony Derezinksi&nbsp; and his challenger, Sally Hart Peterson. WEMU&#39;s Andrew Cluley has a look at the Democratic candidates.</p> Thu, 02 Aug 2012 14:00:24 +0000 Andrew Cluley 17363 at http://wemu.org County Transit http://wemu.org/post/county-transit <p>The Washtenaw County Board of Commissioners have signed off on a four-party agreement and Articles of Incorporation that will serve as the framework for a new, county-wide transit authority.&nbsp; Even with that step forward, another action was taken that will takes the process a step backward. WEMU&#39;s Andrew Cluley explains.</p> Thu, 02 Aug 2012 13:53:42 +0000 Andrew Cluley 17362 at http://wemu.org Improvement Plans for South State Street Corridor http://wemu.org/post/improvement-plans-south-state-street-corridor <p>Ann Arbor officials hold public hearing to detail myriad options for improving the South State Street corridor.</p> Thu, 26 Jul 2012 13:21:03 +0000 Andrew Cluley 17072 at http://wemu.org Street "Diet" for Some Ypsilanti Roads http://wemu.org/post/street-diet-some-ypsilanti-roads <p>Some roads in Ypsilanti may soon be going on a diet.&nbsp;</p><p>WEMU&#39;s Bob Eccles explains.</p> Wed, 18 Jul 2012 13:07:51 +0000 Bob Eccles 16702 at http://wemu.org Council Delays Proposed Charter Amendment for A2 Parks http://wemu.org/post/council-delays-proposed-charter-amendment-a2-parks <p>Ann Arbor&#39;s city council votes 10 to 1 to delay proposed</p><p>charter amendment covering city-owned parkland.</p> Tue, 17 Jul 2012 12:58:52 +0000 Andrew Cluley 16646 at http://wemu.org Seto is New Ann Arbor Police Chief http://wemu.org/post/seto-new-ann-arbor-police-chief <p>Ann Arbor&#39;s city council names John Seto as the city&#39;s</p><p>new police chief.</p> Tue, 17 Jul 2012 12:55:53 +0000 Andrew Cluley 16645 at http://wemu.org Derezinski Faces Challenge in 2nd Ward Primary http://wemu.org/post/derezinski-faces-challenge-2nd-ward-primary <p>Sally Hart Peterson hoping to unseat incumbent</p><p>Anthony Derezinski in August primary.</p> Wed, 11 Jul 2012 12:58:54 +0000 Andrew Cluley 16388 at http://wemu.org Two Democrats Vying for First Ward A2 Council Seat http://wemu.org/post/two-democrats-vying-first-ward-a2-council-seat <p>Sumi&nbsp; Kailasapathy and Eric Sturgis are campaining</p><p>to replace Sandi Smith on Ann Arbor&#39;s city council.</p> Wed, 11 Jul 2012 12:56:33 +0000 Andrew Cluley 16387 at http://wemu.org Proposed Charter Amendment for A2 Parks http://wemu.org/post/proposed-charter-amendment-a2-parks <p>Two city council members want to amend city charter</p><p>to require voter approval of any parkland sale.</p> Fri, 06 Jul 2012 15:25:32 +0000 Andrew Cluley 16196 at http://wemu.org Ann Arbor Developing "Green Streets" Policy http://wemu.org/post/ann-arbor-developing-green-streets-policy <p>Officials work to control storm water runoff</p><p>from city streets.</p> Thu, 05 Jul 2012 13:23:52 +0000 Andrew Cluley 16150 at http://wemu.org Council Approves Sustainability Goals http://wemu.org/post/council-approves-sustainability-goals <p>Council approves 16 goals to be worked into the</p><p>city&#39;s master plan.</p> Tue, 03 Jul 2012 13:00:11 +0000 Andrew Cluley 16072 at http://wemu.org Council Ok's New Main Street Project http://wemu.org/post/council-oks-new-main-street-project <p>Former Fox Tent property redevelopment plan</p><p>approved by Ann Arbor&#39;s city council.</p> Tue, 19 Jun 2012 13:23:27 +0000 Andrew Cluley 15408 at http://wemu.org