State of Michigan http://wemu.org en Governor Praises Pensioners For Approving 'Grand Bargain' http://wemu.org/post/governor-praises-pensioners-approving-grand-bargain <p><strong>Snyder: Pensioner approval of grand bargain sets Detroit up for faster recovery</strong><br /><br /><br />Gov. Rick Snyder is praising Detroit pensioners for approving the city's bankruptcy restructuring plan.</p><p></p><p></p> Wed, 23 Jul 2014 07:21:52 +0000 Jake Neher 49207 at http://wemu.org Governor Praises Pensioners For Approving 'Grand Bargain' Obamacare Ruling Won't Immediately Affect Michigan http://wemu.org/post/obamacare-ruling-wont-immediately-affect-michigan <p><strong>Court ruling on Obamacare tax breaks has no immediate effect in Michigan</strong><br /><br />An appeals court ruling Tuesday out of Washington DC could jeopardize tax subsidies that help nearly 240,000 Michiganders buy health coverage under Obamacare.</p><p></p><p></p> Wed, 23 Jul 2014 07:21:18 +0000 Rick Pluta 49208 at http://wemu.org Obamacare Ruling Won't Immediately Affect Michigan Report Details Factors Leading To Inmate Escape http://wemu.org/post/report-details-factors-leading-inmate-escape <p><strong>AG prison report cites human, technology errors as prime cause of inmate escape</strong><br /><br />A report by the Michigan Attorney General's office has found both human and technology failures played a part in the prison escape of a convicted murderer.</p><p></p><p></p> Tue, 22 Jul 2014 08:13:32 +0000 Rick Pluta 49141 at http://wemu.org Report Details Factors Leading To Inmate Escape Former Treasury Secretary Says Foreign Investment Key To Michigan Economy http://wemu.org/post/former-treasury-secretary-says-foreign-investment-key-michigan-economy <p><strong>Henry Paulson tells Michigan to seek out Chinese investment</strong><br /><br />Former U.S. Treasury Secretary Henry Paulson says foreign investment and immigration will be critical to turning around Michigan's economy.</p><p></p> Tue, 22 Jul 2014 08:13:07 +0000 Bob Eccles 49142 at http://wemu.org Former Treasury Secretary Says Foreign Investment Key To Michigan Economy Hospital Infection Rates May Be Made Available To Public http://wemu.org/post/hospital-infection-rates-may-be-made-available-public <p><strong>State could become more transparent about infection rates at hospitals</strong><br /><br /><br />The state's top health official says Michigan could be more transparent about how many people get infections while at hospitals.</p><p></p><p></p> Mon, 21 Jul 2014 09:16:39 +0000 Jake Neher 49028 at http://wemu.org Hospital Infection Rates May Be Made Available To Public New Legal Assistance Available For Veterans And Military http://wemu.org/post/new-legal-assistance-available-veterans-and-military <p><strong>State attorney general's office unveils law guides for vets and military personnel</strong><br /><br /><br />Michigan veterans and active duty military families now have new resources to help handle legal issues. Michigan Attorney General Bill Schuette released two new legal guides Thursday.</p><p></p> Fri, 18 Jul 2014 08:30:23 +0000 Jake Neher 48968 at http://wemu.org New Legal Assistance Available For Veterans And Military Michigan Attorney General Mum On Medical Marijuana Opposition http://wemu.org/post/michigan-attorney-general-mum-medical-marijuana-opposition <p><strong>AG Schuette won't give details on his opposition to medical marijuana bills</strong><br /><br /><br />The state attorney general is not saying why he opposes bills that would ease restrictions on medical marijuana in Michigan. Some top lawmakers are now urging Bill Schuette to detail his concerns.</p><p></p><p></p> Fri, 18 Jul 2014 08:29:43 +0000 Jake Neher 48967 at http://wemu.org Michigan Attorney General Mum On Medical Marijuana Opposition Medical Marijuana Bills Clear Senate Panel http://wemu.org/post/medical-marijuana-bills-clear-senate-panel <p><strong>Future of medical marijuana bills uncertain after clearing state Senate panel</strong></p><p></p><p>Two bills that would ease restrictions on medical marijuana in Michigan are one step closer to becoming law. A state Senate panel approved the legislation Wednesday.</p><p></p><p></p> Thu, 17 Jul 2014 10:24:48 +0000 Jake Neher 48901 at http://wemu.org Medical Marijuana Bills Clear Senate Panel Non-Union Construction Firms Attack Local Prevailing Wage Laws http://wemu.org/post/non-union-construction-firms-attack-local-prevailing-wage-laws <p><strong>Non-union builders challenge local wage floors</strong></p><p><br />An association of non-union construction companies has asked the state Supreme Court to strike down local prevailing wage laws. The Associated Builders and Contractors says a state law preempts the ordinances.</p><p></p><p></p> Wed, 16 Jul 2014 08:57:47 +0000 Rick Pluta 48836 at http://wemu.org Non-Union Construction Firms Attack Local Prevailing Wage Laws Expansion Of Medicaid Exceeding Expectations http://wemu.org/post/expansion-medicaid-exceeding-expectations <p><strong>Medicaid expansion sign-ups hit one-year target in just four months</strong></p><p><br />In less than four months, Michigan has already hit its 2014 enrollment goal for the state's expanded Medicaid program.</p><p></p><p></p> Fri, 11 Jul 2014 15:16:13 +0000 Jake Neher 48616 at http://wemu.org Expansion Of Medicaid Exceeding Expectations Audit Points To Failings At Michigan Department Of Human Services http://wemu.org/post/audit-points-failings-michigan-department-human-services <p><strong>Another audit says Michigan has failed to protect vulnerable adults</strong><br /><br /><br />Gov. Rick Snyder's administration is again taking heat for failing to protect vulnerable adults.</p><p></p><p></p> Thu, 10 Jul 2014 09:13:34 +0000 Jake Neher 48540 at http://wemu.org Audit Points To Failings At Michigan Department Of Human Services Washtenaw County's Representatives In Lansing Do Well On Environmental Scorecard http://wemu.org/post/washtenaw-countys-representatives-lansing-do-well-environmental-scorecard <p>Washtenaw County's legislative representatives continue to score highly in the Michigan League of Conservation Voters annual Environmental Scorecard.</p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p>State Senator Rebekah Warren and Representatives David Rutledge, Jeff Irwin and Adam Zemke all scored 100 percent, while Representative Gretchen Driskell received an 85 percent rating.&nbsp;</p><p>Senator Warren was singled out for her support of legislation to update and increase fees for hunting and fishing licenses.</p><p>Find the complete scorecard online:</p> Thu, 10 Jul 2014 09:12:22 +0000 Bob Eccles 48547 at http://wemu.org Washtenaw County's Representatives In Lansing Do Well On Environmental Scorecard State Schools Superintendent Has Warning For Charter School Authorizers http://wemu.org/post/state-schools-superintendent-has-warning-charter-school-authorizers <p><strong>State superintendent predicts institutions will lose ability to charter schools</strong><br /><br />The top education official in Michigan says there's a good chance some institutions will lose their authority to create charter schools.</p><p></p><p></p> Wed, 09 Jul 2014 12:26:29 +0000 Jake Neher 48487 at http://wemu.org State Schools Superintendent Has Warning For Charter School Authorizers Good News, Bad News In State Test Data http://wemu.org/post/good-news-bad-news-state-test-data <p><strong>High schoolers' test scores up in all areas, many still not ready for college</strong><br /><br /><br />Michigan high school juniors are improving in all core academic subjects. That's according to standardized test results released Monday.</p><p></p> Tue, 08 Jul 2014 08:31:36 +0000 Jake Neher 48427 at http://wemu.org Good News, Bad News In State Test Data Irwin Blasts Road Funding 'Earmarks' http://wemu.org/post/irwin-blasts-road-funding-earmarks <p>A local state representative is among Democrats crying "foul" in Lansing over the latest round of road funding.</p><p></p><p></p><p>The state chose projects that'll receive $115 million in funding based on request from lawmakers, and Democrats complain that most of the work is being done in districts represented by majority Republicans.&nbsp;</p> Thu, 03 Jul 2014 19:29:00 +0000 Bob Eccles 48262 at http://wemu.org Irwin Blasts Road Funding 'Earmarks' Michigan School Superintendents Want Budget Re-Do http://wemu.org/post/michigan-school-superintendents-want-budget-re-do <p><strong>Superintendents blast education budget</strong><br /><br /><br />As Michigan schools begin their new budget year this week, some local superintendents are urging lawmakers to return from their summer break to boost education funding.</p><p></p><p></p> Thu, 03 Jul 2014 09:47:40 +0000 Jake Neher 48170 at http://wemu.org Michigan School Superintendents Want Budget Re-Do Governor Warns Of Possible Prison Food Service Contract Cancellation http://wemu.org/post/governor-warns-possible-prison-food-service-contract-cancellation <p><strong>Snyder: Prison food contract troubles are "unacceptable"</strong><br /><br />Governor Rick Snyder says a deal with a private contractor to provide food for state prisons could be terminated if there are future problems with the company. Aramark Food Services was awarded the $145 million, three-year contract last December. But the arrangement has been beset by problems since then.</p><p></p> Thu, 03 Jul 2014 09:47:14 +0000 Rick Pluta 48171 at http://wemu.org Governor Warns Of Possible Prison Food Service Contract Cancellation Home-Aid Workers To Undergo Background Checks http://wemu.org/post/home-aid-workers-undergo-background-checks <p><strong>Background checks coming for home-aid workers, state can't exclude all felons</strong><br /><br /><br />Michigan cannot ban all felons from being caregivers in the state's Medicaid in-home care program. That's according to state officials who outlined an upcoming background check system on Monday.</p><p></p><p></p> Tue, 01 Jul 2014 12:28:05 +0000 Jake Neher 48123 at http://wemu.org Home-Aid Workers To Undergo Background Checks Schauer Speaks Out On Charter School Regulation http://wemu.org/post/schauer-speaks-out-charter-school-regulation <p><strong>Schauer says he'd push stricter regulations on charter schools as governor</strong><br /><br /><br />Former Congressman Mark Schauer says he would put tougher regulations on charter schools if he's elected governor. The Battle Creek Democrat says Gov. Rick Snyder has given bad charter operators a "free pass."</p><p></p><p></p> Fri, 27 Jun 2014 08:23:36 +0000 Jake Neher 47968 at http://wemu.org Schauer Speaks Out On Charter School Regulation Economists: Michigan Didn't Think Ending Public Employee Pensions Through http://wemu.org/post/economists-michigan-didnt-think-ending-public-employee-pensions-through <p><strong>Michigan economists warn against ending pensions for public employees</strong><br /><br /><br />Some economists say Michigan failed to consider the consequences of ending pension plans for public workers.</p><p></p><p></p> Tue, 24 Jun 2014 23:40:55 +0000 Jake Neher 47836 at http://wemu.org Economists: Michigan Didn't Think Ending Public Employee Pensions Through Office To Help Skilled immigrants Find Work In Michigan http://wemu.org/post/office-help-skilled-immigrants-find-work-michigan <p><strong>Michigan welcomes office to help skilled immigrants get jobs</strong><br /><br />Highly skilled immigrants in Michigan now have a new resource to help them find jobs. The national nonprofit organization Upwardly Global opened a new office in Detroit on Monday.</p><p></p><p></p> Mon, 23 Jun 2014 23:27:19 +0000 Jake Neher 47765 at http://wemu.org Office To Help Skilled immigrants Find Work In Michigan State Jobless Rate Up Slightly http://wemu.org/post/state-jobless-rate-slightly <p><strong>Michigan's jobless rate jumps very slightly to 7.5 percent</strong><br /><br />Michigan's monthly unemployment rate has edged up slightly 7.5 percent. It's a statistically small nudge of one-tenth of a percentage point, and most of the change is attributed to more people looking for jobs.</p><p></p><p></p> Thu, 19 Jun 2014 08:44:01 +0000 Rick Pluta 47544 at http://wemu.org State Jobless Rate Up Slightly Court Costs May Only Be Ordered For Defendants If Allowed By Legislature http://wemu.org/post/court-costs-may-only-be-ordered-defendants-if-allowed-legislature <p><strong>MI Supreme Court: Judges can't impose fines for court costs on their own</strong><br /><br />The Michigan Supreme Court says judges can't order people convicted of a crime to pay the costs to the legal system -- unless it's been specifically allowed by the Legislature.</p><p></p><p></p> Thu, 19 Jun 2014 08:43:46 +0000 Rick Pluta 47545 at http://wemu.org Court Costs May Only Be Ordered For Defendants If Allowed By Legislature Official: Snyder Not To Blame For Home Care Flubs http://wemu.org/post/official-snyder-not-blame-home-care-flubs <p><strong>State health director says Snyder not to blame for home care failings</strong><br /><br />Michigan's top health official is defending Gov. Rick Snyder amid claims his administration put in-home care patients in danger.</p><p></p><p></p> Thu, 19 Jun 2014 08:43:33 +0000 Jake Neher 47546 at http://wemu.org Official: Snyder Not To Blame For Home Care Flubs Expanded Medicaid Enrollment Soars http://wemu.org/post/expanded-medicaid-enrollment-soars <p><strong>Sign-ups for expanded Medicaid program soar over 300,000</strong><br /><br /><br />More than 300,000 low-income Michiganders have signed up for the state's expanded Medicaid program.</p><p></p> Thu, 19 Jun 2014 08:43:20 +0000 Jake Neher 47547 at http://wemu.org Expanded Medicaid Enrollment Soars