State of Michigan http://wemu.org en Schauer Says Education Is Tops In Schools Plan http://wemu.org/post/schauer-says-education-tops-schools-plan <p><strong>Schauer calls education his "top priority" in schools plan</strong><br /><br /><br />The Democrat likely to challenge Gov. Rick Snyder in November says improving public schools would be his top priority in office.</p><p></p><p><br />Former Congressman Mark Schauer and his running mate, Lisa Brown, unveiled their education plan Wednesday in Lansing.</p><p></p> Thu, 17 Apr 2014 00:25:31 +0000 Jake Neher 44494 at http://wemu.org Schauer Says Education Is Tops In Schools Plan Study Suggests State Of Michigan Not Sharing Fairly With Local Governments http://wemu.org/post/study-suggests-state-michigan-not-sharing-fairly-local-governments <p><strong>Local governments: Tax Day study shows state not paying fair share</strong><br /><br /><br />Local officials say not enough of the revenue Michigan takes in around Tax Day goes to cities, towns, and counties.</p><p></p><p></p> Wed, 16 Apr 2014 00:29:37 +0000 Bob Eccles 44435 at http://wemu.org Study Suggests State Of Michigan Not Sharing Fairly With Local Governments Gay Michigan Couple Hopes To Force State To Recognize Their Marriage http://wemu.org/post/gay-michigan-couple-hopes-force-state-recognize-their-marriage <p><strong>Gay couple trying to force state to recognize their marriage, "for our 13 kids"</strong></p><p><br />The ACLU of Michigan is suing the state to force it to recognize the marriages of about 300 same-sex couples who got married last month.</p><p></p><p></p> Tue, 15 Apr 2014 00:48:24 +0000 Jake Neher & Rick Pluta 44383 at http://wemu.org Gay Michigan Couple Hopes To Force State To Recognize Their Marriage ACLU Sues State Over Same-Sex Marriages http://wemu.org/post/aclu-sues-state-over-same-sex-marriages <p>The American Civil Liberties Union is asking a judge to force the state of Michigan to recognize more than 300 same-sex marriages performed in March.</p><p></p><p></p><p>The ACLU filed a lawsuit Monday on behalf of couples who say their constitutional rights are being violated by Gov. Rick Snyder. He won't recognize the marriages for the purpose of benefits until federal courts decide the status of Michigan's ban on gay marriage.&nbsp;</p> Mon, 14 Apr 2014 23:34:37 +0000 Bob Eccles, Rose Carver & Associated Press 44382 at http://wemu.org ACLU Sues State Over Same-Sex Marriages Scrap Metal Theft Bill Becomes Law http://wemu.org/post/scrap-metal-theft-bill-becomes-law <p><strong>Bill to fight scrap metal theft signed into law</strong><br /><br />Michigan now has tougher laws on the books meant to crack down on scrap metal theft.</p><p></p><p><br />Under a bill signed by Gov. Rick Snyder Thursday, people can no longer get instant cash when they sell commonly-stolen items for $25 or more.</p><p></p> Fri, 11 Apr 2014 01:52:29 +0000 Jake Neher 44231 at http://wemu.org Scrap Metal Theft Bill Becomes Law Immigration Center Approved For Michigan http://wemu.org/post/immigration-center-approved-michigan <p><strong>Feds approve center to encourage immigrant investment in Michigan</strong><br /><br /><br />Michigan will be only the second state in the country to run a statewide center meant to encourage investment from immigrants.</p><p></p><p></p> Wed, 09 Apr 2014 23:16:16 +0000 Jake Neher 44165 at http://wemu.org Immigration Center Approved For Michigan State Schools Superintendent Defends Teachers http://wemu.org/post/state-schools-superintendent-defends-teachers <p><strong>Flanagan defends teachers after report says Michigan schools falling behind</strong><br /><br /><br />The state's top education official says people should not blame teachers for a new report that shows Michigan schools are falling behind.</p><p></p><p></p> Wed, 09 Apr 2014 00:12:48 +0000 Jake Neher 44098 at http://wemu.org State Schools Superintendent Defends Teachers Prominent Democrats Skeptical About Road Fix Proposal http://wemu.org/post/prominent-democrats-skeptical-about-road-fix-proposal <p><strong>Some prominent Democrats skeptical about proposal to fix roads</strong><br /><br /><br />A state House Republican plan to fix Michigan's crumbling infrastructure is drawing criticism from some prominent Democrats.</p><p></p><p></p> Mon, 07 Apr 2014 23:35:30 +0000 Jake Neher 44041 at http://wemu.org Prominent Democrats Skeptical About Road Fix Proposal Attorney General Seeks Rapid Ruling On Same-Sex Marriages http://wemu.org/post/attorney-general-seeks-rapid-ruling-same-sex-marriages <p><strong>Schuette asks for fast action marriage case</strong></p><p></p><p>State Attorney General Bill Schuette has asked a federal appeals court to put the legal challenge to Michigan’s ban on same-sex marriage on a fast track. Schuette is defending Michigan’s ban.</p><p></p><p></p><p></p> Fri, 04 Apr 2014 23:22:11 +0000 Rick Pluta 43933 at http://wemu.org Attorney General Seeks Rapid Ruling On Same-Sex Marriages Schauer Announces Running Mate http://wemu.org/post/schauer-announces-running-mate <p><strong>Lisa Brown announced as Schauer's running mate in governor's race</strong><br /><br /><br />Mark Schauer has made it official. He has chosen Oakland County Clerk Lisa Brown to be his running mate in this year's race for governor.</p><p></p><p></p> Fri, 04 Apr 2014 00:21:43 +0000 Jake Neher 43887 at http://wemu.org Schauer Announces Running Mate Michigan Reponds To Corps Of Engineers Carp Proposal http://wemu.org/post/michigan-reponds-corps-engineers-carp-proposal <p><strong>Michigan replies to Army corps invasive species report</strong><br /><br /><br />Michigan Attorney General Bill Schuette has filed the state's response to the US Army Corps of Engineers invasive species report. Schuette says his biggest complaint is the report fails to outline an aggressive plan to stop Asian carp from reaching the Great Lakes.</p><p></p><p></p> Wed, 02 Apr 2014 00:06:28 +0000 Rick Pluta 43766 at http://wemu.org Michigan Reponds To Corps Of Engineers Carp Proposal Michigan's Expanded Medicaid Program Now Enrolling http://wemu.org/post/michigans-expanded-medicaid-program-now-enrolling <p><strong>Michigan's expanded Medicaid program starts today</strong><br />By Jake Neher<br /><br /><br />Michigan's Medicaid expansion is officially up and running. That means hundreds of thousands of low-income Michiganders are now eligible for government-sponsored health care.</p><p></p><p></p> Wed, 02 Apr 2014 00:02:51 +0000 Jake Neher 43765 at http://wemu.org Michigan's Expanded Medicaid Program Now Enrolling Out-Of-State Residents May Circulate Petitions In Michigan http://wemu.org/post/out-state-residents-may-circulate-petitions-michigan <p><strong>Judge dismisses lawsuit against Michigan petition circulator law</strong><br />By Rick Pluta<br /><br />A bill to let out-of-state residents gather petitions signatures is awaiting Governor Rick Snyder's signature. Because of the bill, a federal judge has dismissed a lawsuit filed against the state.</p><p></p><p></p> Tue, 01 Apr 2014 23:59:39 +0000 Rick Pluta 43764 at http://wemu.org Out-Of-State Residents May Circulate Petitions In Michigan Michigan Children Well Below National Average http://wemu.org/post/michigan-children-well-below-national-average <div><span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;&nbsp;</span>&nbsp; &nbsp; &nbsp;LANSING - A report by a private foundation finds the well-being of Michigan's white children slightly below the national average while black children significantly lag the nation.</div><p> Tue, 01 Apr 2014 07:53:05 +0000 Associated Press 43702 at http://wemu.org Michigan Children Well Below National Average Michigan Road Fixes May Be Coming Soon http://wemu.org/post/michigan-road-fixes-may-be-coming-soon <div><span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;&nbsp;</span><span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;&nbsp;</span>A top Republican in the state Senate thinks a long-term fix for <a href="https://www.michigan.gov/mdot/0,4616,7-151-9615---,00.html" target="_blank">Michigan’s roads </a>could be coming sooner than expected.&nbsp;</div><p> Mon, 31 Mar 2014 13:47:27 +0000 Jake Neher 43655 at http://wemu.org Michigan Road Fixes May Be Coming Soon Labor Courses could cost MSU http://wemu.org/post/labor-courses-could-cost-msu <p><strong>MSU could lose $500k for offering labor courses</strong><br /><br /><br /><br />Michigan State University could risk losing half-a-million dollars if it does not stop offering courses that allegedly promote unionization.</p><p></p><p></p> Fri, 28 Mar 2014 00:52:31 +0000 Jake Neher 43527 at http://wemu.org Labor Courses could cost MSU Congressional Democrats Seek Federal Acknowledgement of Same-Sex Marriages http://wemu.org/post/congressional-democrats-seek-federal-acknowledgement-same-sex-marriages <p><strong>Congressional Democrats ask Holder to recognize MI gay marriages</strong><br />Rick Pluta<br /><br />Some congressional Democrats are putting pressure on Michigan to recognize more than 300 same-sex marriages performed last weekend. They sent a letter today asking US Attorney General Eric Holder to grant federal recognition of the marriages.</p><p></p><p></p> Fri, 28 Mar 2014 00:48:44 +0000 Rick Pluta 43526 at http://wemu.org Congressional Democrats Seek Federal Acknowledgement of Same-Sex Marriages State Lawmakers Push for Balanced Budget Amendment http://wemu.org/post/state-lawmakers-push-balanced-budget-amendment <p><strong>Michigan lawmakers urge Congress to require a balanced federal budget</strong><br />By Jake Neher<br /><br /><br />Michigan is joining at least 17 other states in calling for a balanced budget amendment to the U.S. Constitution.</p><p></p><p></p> Thu, 27 Mar 2014 00:27:26 +0000 Jake Neher 43468 at http://wemu.org State Lawmakers Push for Balanced Budget Amendment Michigan Will Not Recognize Same-Sex Marriages http://wemu.org/post/michigan-will-not-recognize-same-sex-marriages <div>LANSING, Mich. (AP) - Gov. Rick Snyder says Michigan won't recognize more than 300 same-sex marriages performed last weekend.<br /><p></p> Wed, 26 Mar 2014 17:59:27 +0000 Associated Press 43435 at http://wemu.org Michigan Will Not Recognize Same-Sex Marriages Governor Snyder Supports Treating E-Cigarettes Like Tobacco http://wemu.org/post/governor-snyder-supports-treating-e-cigarettes-tobacco <p><strong>Snyder: Treat e-cigarettes like tobacco</strong><br /><br />Governor Rick Snyder says he wants electronic cigarettes to be regulated in Michigan as tobacco products. E-cigarettes deliver a dose of nicotine to users in a mist. There is a bill in the Legislature to ban e-cigarette sales to minors, but would not tax them like cigarettes or subject them to other tobacco-related regulations.</p><p></p><p><br />The governor says it makes more sense to simply treat them as a tobacco product.</p><p></p> Wed, 19 Mar 2014 23:30:02 +0000 Rick Pluta 43095 at http://wemu.org Governor Snyder Supports Treating E-Cigarettes Like Tobacco Road Conditions Won't Improve Soon, warns County Road Commission http://wemu.org/post/road-conditions-wont-improve-soon-warns-county-road-commission <p>The Washtenaw County Road Commission is warning that area roads will continue to be in rough shape for a while, as long as the weather continues to freeze and thaw.</p><p></p><p></p><p>Jim Harmon is the road commission's Director of Operations.</p> Tue, 18 Mar 2014 23:49:53 +0000 Bob Eccles 43044 at http://wemu.org Road Conditions Won't Improve Soon, warns County Road Commission Medical Marijuana Approved for PTSD in Michigan http://wemu.org/post/medical-marijuana-approved-ptsd-michigan <p><strong>PTSD patients now able to get medical marijuana card in Michigan</strong><br />By Jake Neher<br /><br /><br />Michiganders suffering from post-traumatic stress disorder can now get a card to use medical marijuana.</p><p></p><p></p> Tue, 18 Mar 2014 23:41:35 +0000 Jake Neher 43043 at http://wemu.org Medical Marijuana Approved for PTSD in Michigan Michigan Lawmakers Discuss Scrap Metal Theft http://wemu.org/post/michigan-lawmakers-discuss-scrap-metal-theft <p><strong>Lawmakers revive talks over scrap metal theft</strong><br />By Jake Neher<br /><br /><br />There's a new push in Lansing to pass legislation meant to fight scrap metal theft in Michigan. Votes in the House and Senate could come as soon as this week.</p><p></p><p></p> Mon, 17 Mar 2014 23:35:20 +0000 Jake Neher 42985 at http://wemu.org Michigan Lawmakers Discuss Scrap Metal Theft Michigan DEQ awards scrap tire cleanup grants http://wemu.org/post/michigan-deq-awards-scrap-tire-cleanup-grants <div><span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;&nbsp;</span>The Michigan Department of Environmental Quality is awarding $357,450 in grants for scrap tire cleanup projects.</div><p> Sat, 15 Mar 2014 10:04:13 +0000 Associated Press 42857 at http://wemu.org Michigan DEQ awards scrap tire cleanup grants Abortion Coverage Not an Option for those Buying their Own Insurance http://wemu.org/post/abortion-coverage-not-option-those-buying-their-own-insurance <p><strong>Michiganders buying insurance on their own cannot get abortion coverage</strong><br /> Fri, 14 Mar 2014 23:43:31 +0000 Jake Neher 42852 at http://wemu.org Abortion Coverage Not an Option for those Buying their Own Insurance