renewable energy http://wemu.org en Clean Energy Coalition Sets Renewable Energy Goal http://wemu.org/post/clean-energy-coalition-sets-renewable-energy-goal <p>The Executive Director of Ann Arbor's Clean Energy Coalition thinks generating 100 kilowatts of renewable energy in town in the next year is highly achievable.</p><p></p><p></p> Tue, 29 Apr 2014 00:16:50 +0000 Bob Eccles 45082 at http://wemu.org Clean Energy Coalition Sets Renewable Energy Goal Governor Snyder Wants More Renewables, Less Coal in Michigan http://wemu.org/post/governor-snyder-wants-more-renewables-less-coal-michigan <p>Governor Rick Snyder says it’s time for state lawmakers to set new energy goals for Michigan. He says those goals should include burning less coal and increasing renewable energy production over the next decade.</p><p>Snyder outlined a broad set of goals for energy policy between now and 2025 during a roundtable Thursday in Detroit.</p> Fri, 20 Dec 2013 04:32:55 +0000 Jake Neher 39259 at http://wemu.org Governor Snyder Wants More Renewables, Less Coal in Michigan 1st Friday Focus on the Environment: Michigan's Energy Future http://wemu.org/post/1st-friday-focus-environment-michigans-energy-future <p>On the first Friday of every month, WEMU Morning Edition Host David Fair partners with Michigan League of Conservation voters Executive Director Lisa Wozniak. Together they invite a guest to spend 20-minutes discuss a topic of environmental importance.&nbsp;</p><p>This month, our guest is Dan Scripps. Dan is a former State Representative and current President of the&nbsp; Michigan Energy Innovation Business Council. Today's conversation centers on progress that has been made in both energy efficiency and renewable energy usage in the state, where we are going next, and how we'll get there.</p><p>Michigan's Energy Future: That's the topic on WEMU's First Friday Focus on the Environment.</p><p> Fri, 01 Nov 2013 19:16:12 +0000 David Fair & Lisa Wozniak 37150 at http://wemu.org 1st Friday Focus on the Environment: Michigan's Energy Future Michigan's Renewable Energy Efforts Paying Off http://wemu.org/post/michigans-renewable-energy-efforts-paying <p>Michigan's investment in renewable energy is paying off, according to a new energy efficiency report from<a href="http://www.michigan.gov/energy">&nbsp;Governor Rick Snyder's office</a>.&nbsp;</p><p>WEMU's Bob Eccles has more.</p><p></p><p> Fri, 25 Oct 2013 00:14:51 +0000 Bob Eccles 36800 at http://wemu.org Michigan's Renewable Energy Efforts Paying Off Issues of the Environment: Clean Energy http://wemu.org/post/issues-environment-clean-energy <p>Weighing the pros and cons of incentive-based energy programs.&nbsp; David Wright is the Clean Energy Program Director at the Ann Arbor-based Ecology Center, and he's our guest on this week's Issues of the Environment from WEMU.</p><p></p> Wed, 30 Jan 2013 13:39:43 +0000 David Fair 24876 at http://wemu.org Issues of the Environment: Clean Energy 25X25 Campaign Comes to UofM http://wemu.org/post/25x25-campaign-comes-uofm <p>University of Michigan students in the Michigan Energy Club got an update on state ballot proposal number three.&nbsp; Hear more from WEMU's Andrew Cluley.</p> Wed, 26 Sep 2012 12:53:41 +0000 Andrew Cluley 19978 at http://wemu.org First Friday Focus on the Environment http://wemu.org/post/first-friday-focus-environment-49 <p>Voters may decide if Michigan must get 25%</p><p>of its energy from renewable sources by 2025.</p> Fri, 06 Jul 2012 15:22:34 +0000 David Fair & Lisa Wozniak 16195 at http://wemu.org