police http://wemu.org en Brighton Post State Trooper Honored http://wemu.org/post/brighton-post-state-trooper-honored <p>A Brighton Post State Trooper has received his department's Bravery Award for his actions in a potentially fatal situation.&nbsp;</p><p></p> Fri, 24 Jan 2014 00:25:18 +0000 Bob Eccles 40579 at http://wemu.org Brighton Post State Trooper Honored Eastern Michigan University Adding Police Officers http://wemu.org/post/eastern-michigan-university-adding-police-officers <p>Eastern Michigan University continues to increase efforts to promote safety on campus and off.</p><p> Fri, 03 Jan 2014 06:55:50 +0000 Andrew Cluley 39750 at http://wemu.org Eastern Michigan University Adding Police Officers Ann Arbor DDA Board Members Visit Grand Rapids to See Downtown Ambassadors http://wemu.org/post/ann-arbor-dda-board-members-visit-grand-rapids-see-downtown-ambassadors <p>Ann Arbor City Council asked the Downtown Development Authority earlier this year to consider paying for three downtown beat cops.&nbsp;</p><p>A trip by several DDA board members to Grand Rapids, however, increased the interest by some on the DDA to instead hire downtown ambassadors.&nbsp;</p><p>DDA Board member Keith Orr says ambassadors may better fit the needs of the downtown area.&nbsp; He says an ambassador in uniform can increase the perception of safety and be in direct contact with police if law enforcement is needed.&nbsp; He says law enforcement in communities that have hired ambassadors may have shown initial resistance but have come to see them as additional eyes and ears in the community.</p><p></p><p> Mon, 02 Dec 2013 07:02:20 +0000 Andrew Cluley 38428 at http://wemu.org Training to Respond to Tragedy http://wemu.org/post/training-respond-tragedy <p>It's a scenario no police department wants to be called to respond to, but one for which they must be prepared.&nbsp; WEMU's Bob Eccles joined officers from the Ypsilanti and Eastern Michigan University police departments this weekend for "active shooter" training.</p><p></p><p></p> Mon, 11 Feb 2013 16:06:41 +0000 Bob Eccles 25394 at http://wemu.org Training to Respond to Tragedy Police Step Up Drunk Driving Enforcement http://wemu.org/post/police-step-drunk-driving-enforcement <p>Law enforcement agencies across Washtenaw County are participating in another special traffic enforcement period looking for impaired drivers.&nbsp; Hear more from WEMU's Andrew Cluley.</p><p></p> Wed, 21 Nov 2012 16:48:57 +0000 Andrew Cluley 22297 at http://wemu.org Regents Approve Police Contract http://wemu.org/post/regents-approve-police-contract <p>Eastern Michigan University Regents approve four-year</p><p>contract with police officers.</p> Wed, 25 Jul 2012 16:54:08 +0000 Andrew Cluley 17030 at http://wemu.org Seto is New Ann Arbor Police Chief http://wemu.org/post/seto-new-ann-arbor-police-chief <p>Ann Arbor&#39;s city council names John Seto as the city&#39;s</p><p>new police chief.</p> Tue, 17 Jul 2012 12:55:53 +0000 Andrew Cluley 16645 at http://wemu.org