Politics http://wemu.org en Medical Marijuana Bills Approved by Michigan House http://wemu.org/post/medical-marijuana-bills-approved-michigan-house <p><strong>State House approves a trio of medical marijuana bills</strong></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Medical marijuana patients in Michigan would have more ways to legally obtain and consume cannabis under three bills that cleared the state House on Thursday.</span></p><p>House Bill 4271 would allow medical marijuana dispensaries to operate again in Michigan.</p><p>State Rep. Mike Callton (R-Nashville) introduced the legislation. He says it’s critical for many patients to have safe access to marijuana right away.</p> Fri, 13 Dec 2013 03:03:59 +0000 Jake Neher 38943 at http://wemu.org Medical Marijuana Bills Approved by Michigan House State of the Union http://wemu.org/post/state-union <p>Tuesday, February 12, President Obama will deliver his State of the Union address, the first address of his second term on WEMU. You can listen in on the coverage here on 89.1 FM (or online) and follow the live-blog in real time, below.&nbsp;</p><p></p><p><iframe frameborder="0" height="400" marginheight="0" marginwidth="0" scrolling="auto" src="http://apps.npr.org/state-of-the-union-2013/widget.html" style="border: 1px solid #CCC;" width="450"></iframe></p> Mon, 11 Feb 2013 16:59:43 +0000 WEMU 25397 at http://wemu.org State of the Union Rutledge Says Part Time Legislature Would Hurt Citizens http://wemu.org/post/rutledge-says-part-time-legislature-would-hurt-citizens <p>State lawmakers are considering whether they could get their work done on a part-time basis, but one local legislator doesn't like the idea.&nbsp; Hear more from WEMU's Bob Eccles.</p><p></p> Tue, 29 Jan 2013 15:02:33 +0000 Bob Eccles 24823 at http://wemu.org Rutledge Says Part Time Legislature Would Hurt Citizens Inauguration Coverage http://wemu.org/post/inauguration-coverage <p>Tune in on Monday, January 21 to WEMU for NPR's special coverage of the Inauguration of President Barack Obama from 10 am to 2 pm. Steve Inskeep and Audie Cornish will host the special from the west front of the U.S. Capitol Building, where the Inaugural ceremony will take place. They’ll be joined there by White House Correspondents Ari Shapiro and Scott Horsley. Thu, 17 Jan 2013 15:39:06 +0000 WEMU 24367 at http://wemu.org Inauguration Coverage Rutledge Wants More Help for Local Governments http://wemu.org/post/rutledge-wants-more-help-local-governments <p>A local state legislator says he'll be closely watching Governor Snyder's state-of-the-state address tonight, hoping to hear a plan for more help for struggling local governments.&nbsp; Hear more from WEMU's Bob Eccles.</p><p></p> Wed, 16 Jan 2013 14:34:08 +0000 Bob Eccles 24315 at http://wemu.org Ann Arbor as an Example of Good Government http://wemu.org/post/ann-arbor-example-good-government <p>As Governor Rick Snyder gives his state-of-the-state address tonight, Ann Arbor's Mayor wants the state to look at Ann Arbor as an example of good government.&nbsp; Hear more from WEMU's Andrew Cluley.</p><p></p> Wed, 16 Jan 2013 14:29:46 +0000 Andrew Cluley 24314 at http://wemu.org Contest Results by Precinct in Washtenaw County http://wemu.org/post/contest-results-precinct-washtenaw-county <div id="Core"><div align="center"><p><a href="http://wemu.org/contest-results-precinct-washtenaw-county" target="_blank">Click Here For Results</a></p></div></div><p></p> Wed, 07 Nov 2012 14:27:57 +0000 WEMU 21717 at http://wemu.org Washtenaw County Election Result Totals http://wemu.org/post/washtenaw-county-election-result-totals <div id="Core"><div align="center"><p><a href="http://wemu.org/all-washtenaw-county-election-result-totals-0" target="_blank">Click Here For More</a></p></div></div><p></p> Wed, 07 Nov 2012 14:25:52 +0000 WEMU 21716 at http://wemu.org Precinct Results by Contest in Washtenaw County http://wemu.org/post/precinct-results-contest-washtenaw-county <div id="Core"><div align="center"><a href="http://wemu.org/precinct-results-contest-washtenaw-county" target="_blank">Click Here For Results</a></div></div><p></p> Wed, 07 Nov 2012 14:23:54 +0000 WEMU 21715 at http://wemu.org Listen Live: NPR and WEMU Election Coverage http://wemu.org/post/listen-live-npr-and-wemu-election-coverage <p><span style="font-family: 'times new roman', 'new york', times, serif; font-size: 16px; line-height: normal; ">Join WEMU and Npr Tuesday night</span><span style="font-family: 'times new roman', 'new york', times, serif; font-size: 16px; line-height: normal; ">&nbsp;beginning at 8 for complete election coverage.&nbsp; Npr will report the presidential, congressional, and senatorial results around the nation.&nbsp; WEMU's Clark Smith and political analyst Tom Weider will have the local results from Washtenaw County.</span><span style="font-family: 'times new roman', 'new york', times, serif; f Mon, 05 Nov 2012 15:36:33 +0000 WEMU 21586 at http://wemu.org Listen Live: NPR and WEMU Election Coverage Washtenaw Election Results http://wemu.org/post/washtenaw-election-results <div id="Core"><br><div align="center">These results represent <b>Washtenaw County voters only.</b><br><small>Data courtesy <a href="http://www.ewashtenaw.org/government/clerk_register/" target="_blank">Washtenaw County Clerk/Register’s Office</a>.</small><p></p><iframe frameborder="0" height="200" src="http://electionresults.ewashtenaw.org/nov2012/indexreport.html" width="720">&amp;amp;amp;amp;amp;amp;amp;amp;amp;amp;amp;amp;amp;amp;lt;/div&amp;amp;amp;amp;amp;amp;amp;amp;amp;amp;amp;amp;amp;amp;gt;</iframe></div></div><p></p> Mon, 05 Nov 2012 14:32:52 +0000 WEMU 21581 at http://wemu.org WEMU 89.1 FM - Third and Last Presidential Debate Starting at 9PM Monday Night http://wemu.org/post/wemu-891-fm-third-and-last-presidential-debate-starting-9pm-monday-night <p>WEMU 89.1 FM&nbsp;</p> Sun, 21 Oct 2012 12:54:07 +0000 WEMU 20992 at http://wemu.org WEMU 89.1 FM - Third and Last Presidential Debate Starting at 9PM Monday Night WEMU presents Obama Vs. Romney 9 to 11 tonight: The Presidential Candidates Set For Round 2 http://wemu.org/post/wemu-presents-obama-vs-romney-9-11-tonight-presidential-candidates-set-round-2 After a zinger of a vice presidential debate last week, the bosses have a lot to live up to tonight. Just in case you haven't been paying attention: President Obama and former Gov. Mitt Romney face off in the second of three presidential debates.<p>It starts at 9 p.m. at Hofstra University in Hempstead, N.Y. Tue, 16 Oct 2012 12:26:00 +0000 Eyder Peralta 20779 at http://wemu.org WEMU presents Obama Vs. Romney 9 to 11 tonight: The Presidential Candidates Set For Round 2 Soapbox Summer http://wemu.org/post/soapbox-summer-0 <p><font face="times new roman, new york, times, serif" size="3"><span style="line-height: normal;">WEMU SOAPBOX SUMMER &nbsp; &nbsp; &nbsp; &nbsp; &nbsp; &nbsp; &nbsp; &nbsp; &nbsp; &nbsp; &nbsp; &nbsp; &nbsp; &nbsp; &nbsp; &nbsp;&nbsp;</span></font></p><p><strong>&nbsp;Hear the Candidates</strong><br />Through &nbsp;Monday August 6</p> Wed, 25 Jul 2012 19:37:43 +0000 WEMU 17037 at http://wemu.org Soapbox Summer Soapbox Summer http://wemu.org/post/soapbox-summer <p>&nbsp;</p> Wed, 13 Jun 2012 18:09:24 +0000 WEMU 15161 at http://wemu.org Soapbox Summer Sustainable Development and U.S. Policy http://wemu.org/post/sustainable-development-and-us-policy <p><a href="http://www.uspartnership.org/main/view_archive/1" target="_blank">U.S. Partnership for Education and Sustainable Development</a><br /><br />Today David talks about government policies regarding recycling, renewable energy, and environmental impact with Debra Rowe, President of the U.S. Partnership for Education and Sustainable Development.</p> Wed, 30 May 2012 14:18:52 +0000 David Fair 14518 at http://wemu.org Sustainable Development and U.S. Policy Saying Goodbye - Federal and State Relationships http://wemu.org/post/saying-goodbye-federal-and-state-relationships <p><a href="http://www.aclu.org/" target="_blank">The American Civil Liberties Union</a><br /><a href="http://www.theusconstitution.org/" target="_blank">The Constitutional Accountability Center</a></p><p>On this last regular episode of the 8-season Lynn Rivers Show, Lynn talks to Carrie Moss from the American Civil Liberties Union and Elizabeth Wydra from the Constitutional Accountability Center about health care reform and gay marriage, focusing on the constitutional relationship between the state and federal governments.</p> Wed, 30 May 2012 13:36:50 +0000 Lynn Rivers 14516 at http://wemu.org Saying Goodbye - Federal and State Relationships Waste Not Dump Not? http://wemu.org/post/waste-not-dump-not <p>Republican state lawmakers are racing to repeal Michigan&#39;s ban on yard waste going to landfills. David talks to Jeff Irwin this week, a member of the House Committee on Energy and Technology.</p> Wed, 25 Apr 2012 13:13:08 +0000 David Fair 12970 at http://wemu.org Waste Not Dump Not? The White House and the Media and the Foreclosure Debacle http://wemu.org/post/white-house-and-media-and-foreclosure-debacle <p>Inside the White House and holding on to your house on this week&#39;s Lynn Rivers Show from WEMU. Lynn&#39;s guests this week are Mother Jones&#39; Washington Bureau Chief David Corn, and Pro Publica investigative reporter Paul Kiel.<br />&nbsp;</p> Tue, 17 Apr 2012 13:40:10 +0000 Lynn Rivers 12602 at http://wemu.org The White House and the Media and the Foreclosure Debacle Pakistan on the Brink http://wemu.org/post/pakistan-brink <p>Lynn&#39;s guest this week is journalist Ahmed Rashid, author of &#39;<em>Pakistan on the Brink: The Future of America, Pakistan, and Afghanistan</em>&#39;.</p> Tue, 10 Apr 2012 13:14:21 +0000 Lynn Rivers 12314 at http://wemu.org Pakistan on the Brink The Lynn Rivers Show http://wemu.org/post/politics-party-three <p>This week, the Lynn Rivers Show examines third parties and third party candidates in the American electoral process.</p> Tue, 03 Apr 2012 14:42:55 +0000 Lynn Rivers 11997 at http://wemu.org Fight for Your Right... to Work http://wemu.org/post/fight-your-right-work <p>This week, Lynn talks about &#39;right to work states&#39; versus &#39;union states&#39;. She talks to people on both sides of the debate this week on the Lynn Rivers Show.</p> Tue, 27 Mar 2012 13:42:17 +0000 Lynn Rivers 11648 at http://wemu.org Fight for Your Right... to Work Lynn Rivers Show http://wemu.org/post/lynn-rivers-show-5 <p>Primaries, caucuses, and some anomalies of our electoral system. Wed, 11 Jan 2012 14:48:34 +0000 Lynn Rivers 8170 at http://wemu.org