transportation http://wemu.org en State Transportation Director Blasts Lawmakers for Shunning Road Repairs http://wemu.org/post/state-transportation-director-blasts-lawmakers-shunning-road-repairs <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Michigan’s top transportation official is blasting state lawmakers for all but giving up on passing a long-term road funding fix this year.</span></p><p> Wed, 22 Jan 2014 06:27:13 +0000 Bob Eccles 40483 at http://wemu.org State Transportation Director Blasts Lawmakers for Shunning Road Repairs Local Author Examines Changing Automotive Culture http://wemu.org/post/local-author-examines-changing-automotive-culture <p>A local author is writing a book that focuses on the changing automotive culture.&nbsp;&nbsp;</p><p>Micki Maynard of Ann Arbor is a <a href="http://www.forbes.com/sites/michelinemaynard/">Forbes Magazine</a> contributor and former New York Times Detroit bureau chief.&nbsp; Her book is titled <em>Curbing Cars: Rethinking How We Get Around</em>.&nbsp;</p><p>WEMU's Bob Eccles spoke with her about the book, and her Kickstarter campaign to get it funded.</p><p><a href="http://www.kickstarter.com/projects/michelinemaynard/curbing-cars-rethinking-how-we-get-around?ref=live">&nbsp;</a> Wed, 07 Aug 2013 22:27:17 +0000 Bob Eccles 33299 at http://wemu.org Local Author Examines Changing Automotive Culture Ypsilanti Community Schools Schedule and Transportation Plan Near Completion http://wemu.org/post/ypsilanti-community-schools-schedule-and-transportation-plan-near-completion <p>The unified Ypsilanti-Willow Run school board last night talked about proposed bell times, transportation details and a district calendar for Ypsilanti Community Schools.&nbsp; WEMU's Bob Eccles was there, and filed this report.&nbsp;</p><p></p><p></p> Fri, 24 May 2013 12:12:33 +0000 Bob Eccles 29861 at http://wemu.org Ypsilanti Community Schools Schedule and Transportation Plan Near Completion School Board Considers Transportation Options http://wemu.org/post/school-board-considers-transportation-options <p>A working group of Ann Arbor public schools officials and community members has come up with four recommendations to serve as a basis for further talks on district transportation issues.&nbsp; Hear more from WEMU's Andrew Cluley.</p><p></p> Thu, 20 Dec 2012 13:51:02 +0000 Andrew Cluley & Andrew 23374 at http://wemu.org Transportation Forum in A2 http://wemu.org/post/transportation-forum-a2 <p>A statewide coalition is seeking public comment on Michigan should best spend its transportation dollars. &quot;Transportation for Michigan&quot; held a community forum in Ann Arbor Thursday night. WEMU&#39;s Andrew Cluley was there.</p> Fri, 03 Aug 2012 10:21:34 +0000 Andrew Cluley 17414 at http://wemu.org AATA Offering Van Pool Service http://wemu.org/post/aata-offering-van-pool-service <p>Van pool to help commuters for whom fixed-route</p><p>bus service is not an option.</p> Mon, 25 Jun 2012 14:13:00 +0000 Andrew Cluley 15681 at http://wemu.org Ypsilanti Approves Regional Transit Agreement http://wemu.org/post/ypsilanti-approves-regional-transit-agreement <p>Transit plan framework heads to county commission.</p> Wed, 06 Jun 2012 13:22:48 +0000 Bob Eccles 14842 at http://wemu.org No Cuts Yet in A2 Schools Transportation Budget http://wemu.org/post/no-cuts-yet-a2-schools-transportation-budget <p>School board sets up work group to review district&#39;s</p><p>spending on transportation.&nbsp;&nbsp; Future cuts possible.</p> Fri, 25 May 2012 13:21:20 +0000 Andrew Cluley 14353 at http://wemu.org State Residents Willing to Pay More for Transportation http://wemu.org/post/state-residents-willing-pay-more-transportation <p>New poll shows Michigan voters are willing to pay higher taxes for transportation.</p> Fri, 27 Apr 2012 17:51:41 +0000 Bob Eccles 13094 at http://wemu.org More Workers Using Alternative Transit Options in Ann Arbor http://wemu.org/post/more-workers-using-alternative-transit-options-ann-arbor <p>Survey of downtown Ann Arbor employers and workers finds more are using alternative transit to get to their jobs.</p> Wed, 01 Feb 2012 14:13:09 +0000 Andrew Cluley 9107 at http://wemu.org