Ypsilanti http://wemu.org en Schreiber Delivers State-of-the-City Address http://wemu.org/post/schreiber-delivers-state-city-address <p>Ypsilanti Mayor Paul Schreiber gave his state-of-the-city address Tuesday night.&nbsp; Hear more from WEMU's Bob Eccles.&nbsp;</p><p></p><p>Full interview:</p><p></p> Wed, 06 Mar 2013 14:38:57 +0000 Bob Eccles 26395 at http://wemu.org Schreiber Delivers State-of-the-City Address What's In A Name? http://wemu.org/post/whats-name <p>The unified Ypsilanti-Willow Run school board has decided on a process to name the new district.&nbsp; As WEMU’s Bob Eccles reports, if all goes according to plan, that name will be in place in just over one month’s time.</p><p></p><p></p> Fri, 21 Dec 2012 03:14:55 +0000 Robert Eccles 23401 at http://wemu.org What's In A Name? State Poised to Help New Ypsilanti-Willow Run School District http://wemu.org/post/state-poised-help-new-ypsilanti-willow-run-school-district <p>Washtenaw Intermediate School District Superintendent Scott Mensel met with state Treasurer Andy Dillon earlier this week, seeking assistance in wiping out an operational deficit in the newly combined Ypsilanti-Willow Run school district.&nbsp;&nbsp; Hear more from WEMU's Bob Eccles.</p><p></p> Thu, 20 Dec 2012 13:48:12 +0000 Bob Eccles 23372 at http://wemu.org Ypsilanti Stays with Chamber of Commerce http://wemu.org/post/ypsilanti-stays-chamber-commerce <p>The city of Ypsilanti will maintain its membership in the Ann Arbor-Ypsilanti Regional Chamber of Commerce.&nbsp; A resolution to withdraw form the organization was defeated Tuesday night.&nbsp; Hear more from WEMU's Bob Eccles.</p><p></p><p></p> Wed, 19 Dec 2012 14:33:21 +0000 Bob Eccles 23326 at http://wemu.org Ypsilanti Stays with Chamber of Commerce Medical Examiner Getting Help In Niswender Death Probe http://wemu.org/post/medical-examiner-getting-help-niswender-death-probe <p>The Washtenaw County Medical Examiner's office is bringing in some additional experts to help them with the process of determining Julia Niswender's cause of death.&nbsp; That's the word from Ypsilanti police, who also say they're following up on leads they've received, but can't offer any additional details.&nbsp; Niswender's death is being investigated as a possible homicide. Tue, 18 Dec 2012 21:16:35 +0000 Robert Eccles 23296 at http://wemu.org Perry CDC and Other Schools May Stay Open Next Year http://wemu.org/post/perry-cdc-and-other-schools-may-stay-open-next-year <p>The Superintendent of the Washtenaw Intermediate School District is recommending that the unified Ypsilanti-Willow Run school board keep Perry Child Development Center and the elementary schools in the consolidated district open next school year.&nbsp; Hear more from WEMU's Bob Eccles.</p><p></p> Tue, 18 Dec 2012 17:58:48 +0000 Bob Eccles 23283 at http://wemu.org Unified School Board Considers Keeping Perry, Elementary Schools Open http://wemu.org/post/unified-school-board-considers-keeping-perry-elementary-schools-open <p>The Superintendent of the Washtenaw Intermediate School District is recommending that the unified Ypsilanti-Willow Run School Board keep Perry Child Development Center and the elementary schools in the Ypsilanti and Willow Run districts open next school year.&nbsp;</p><p></p><p></p><p></p> Tue, 18 Dec 2012 05:50:36 +0000 Robert Eccles 23254 at http://wemu.org Unified School Board Considers Keeping Perry, Elementary Schools Open Funeral and Burial held for Julia Niswender http://wemu.org/post/funeral-and-burial-held-julia-niswender <p>The investigation into how 23 yerar-old Julia Niswender died continues, as the Eastern Michigan University student is laid to rest.&nbsp; A funeral service was held today for Niswender, who was found dead in her off-campus apartment last Tuesday night.&nbsp; Ypsilanti police spent the weekend talking to people in the area surrounding the Peninsular Place apartments, trying to find out if anyone saw or heard anything that might be helpful to the investigation.&nbsp; Niswender's death is being investigated as a possible homicide, although the cause of her death has not yet been determined.</p Mon, 17 Dec 2012 23:01:27 +0000 Robert Eccles 23250 at http://wemu.org Mayor Has Year-End "Wish List" for Council http://wemu.org/post/mayor-has-year-end-wish-list-council <p>Ypsilanti's Mayor has a few things he'd like to see city council accomplish before the year ends.&nbsp; Hear more from WEMU's Bob Eccles.</p><p></p> Thu, 13 Dec 2012 14:23:53 +0000 Bob Eccles & Bob Eccl 23084 at http://wemu.org Ypsilanti Goes After Solar Power Generation Project http://wemu.org/post/ypsilanti-goes-after-solar-power-generation-project <p>Ypsilanti's city council has taken the first step toward hopefully landing a four million dollar solar power generation project.&nbsp; Hear more from WEMU's Bob Eccles.</p><p></p> Wed, 05 Dec 2012 14:08:22 +0000 Bob Eccles 22770 at http://wemu.org Ypsilanti Mayor's Year-End Wish List http://wemu.org/post/ypsilanti-mayors-year-end-wish-list <p>Ypsilanti's Mayor has a few things he's like to see city council accomplish before the end of the year.&nbsp; Hear more from WEMU's Bob Eccles.</p><p></p> Wed, 05 Dec 2012 13:55:06 +0000 Bob Eccles 22768 at http://wemu.org Ypsilanti and Willow Run School Board Meets http://wemu.org/post/ypsilanti-and-willow-run-school-board-meets <p>The school board managing both the Ypsilanti and Willow Run school districts met last night to take care of some business for the Ypsilanti school district.&nbsp; Hear more from WEMU's Bob Eccles.</p><p></p><p></p> Tue, 04 Dec 2012 16:46:48 +0000 Bob Eccles 22726 at http://wemu.org Ypsilanti and Willow Run School Board Meets New School Board holds First Meeting http://wemu.org/post/new-school-board-holds-first-meeting <p>The new school board appointed to oversee the consolidated Ypsilanti and Willow Run school district held its first meeting Monday night.&nbsp; Hear more from WEMU's Bob Eccles.</p><p></p><p></p> Tue, 27 Nov 2012 13:54:40 +0000 Bob Eccles 22453 at http://wemu.org New School Board holds First Meeting Family Dollar Store May Be Headed for Ypsilanti's Water Street Area http://wemu.org/post/family-dollar-store-may-be-headed-ypsilantis-water-street-area <p>Ypsilanti's city council has approved a letter of intent with a developer who'd like to build a Family Dollar store on the city's Water Street property.&nbsp; Hear more from WEMU's Bob Eccles.</p><p></p> Wed, 21 Nov 2012 16:41:20 +0000 Bob Eccles 22295 at http://wemu.org More Money Needed for Rutherford Pool Rebuild http://wemu.org/post/more-money-needed-rutherford-pool-rebuild <p>The "Friends of the Rutherford Pool" have raised $750,ooo to rebuild the public pool used by Ypsilanti residents, but higher than expected costs mean more fundraising needs to be done.&nbsp; Hear more from WEMU's Andrew Cluley.</p><p></p> Wed, 21 Nov 2012 16:33:25 +0000 Andrew Cluley 22290 at http://wemu.org WISD Board Wraps Up Interviews http://wemu.org/post/wisd-board-wraps-interviews <p>With interviews completed, the Washtenaw Intermediate School District board now faces the challenge of choosing seven people to serve on the Board of Education for the consolidated Ypsilanti-Willow Run school district.</p><p></p> Wed, 14 Nov 2012 02:51:22 +0000 Robert Eccles 21982 at http://wemu.org WISD Board Wraps Up Interviews A (slight) Changing of the Guard http://wemu.org/post/slight-changing-guard <p>The Oath of Office was administered Monday night to one new Ypsilanti city council member and two returning council members.</p> Tue, 13 Nov 2012 21:48:05 +0000 Robert Eccles 21972 at http://wemu.org A (slight) Changing of the Guard Council Approve Bus Service Contract http://wemu.org/post/council-approve-bus-service-contract <p>Ypsilanti's city council has approved an agreement with the Ann Arbor Transportation Authority to continue bus service through June of next year.&nbsp; Details from WEMU's Bob Eccles.</p><p></p> Tue, 13 Nov 2012 14:02:29 +0000 Bob Eccles 21947 at http://wemu.org What's Next for Ypsi-Willow Run Consolidation http://wemu.org/post/whats-next-ypsi-willow-run-consolidation <p>Voters in the Ypsilanti and Willow Run school districts have approved consolidation of the districts.&nbsp; Washtenaw Intermediate School District Superintendent Scott Menzel discusses what's next with WEMU's David Fair.</p><p></p> Thu, 08 Nov 2012 14:00:19 +0000 David Fair 21768 at http://wemu.org Voters Approve Consolidation of School Districts http://wemu.org/post/voters-approve-consolidation-school-districts <p>The consolidation of the Willow Run and Ypsilanti school districts was approved by voters on Tuesday.&nbsp; Hear more from WEMU's Bob Eccles.</p><p></p> Wed, 07 Nov 2012 10:34:52 +0000 Bob Eccles 21695 at http://wemu.org Ypsi City Council Adds, Drops Housing Commissioners http://wemu.org/post/ypsi-city-council-adds-drops-housing-commissioners <p style="margin-bottom: 0in;">The composition of the Ypsilanti Housing Commission is up to four members after city council last night approved the removal of a sitting commissioner and the appointment of two new commissioners. Mayor Paul Schreiber had proposed adding Tabitha Boone and Ariel Moore to the commission, but councilmember Pete Murdock was prepared to table the issue unless the mayor also agreed to remove commissioner Bernice Ethington. Wed, 31 Oct 2012 19:32:30 +0000 Robert Eccles 21419 at http://wemu.org Pot Proposal on Ypsi Ballot http://wemu.org/post/pot-proposal-ypsi-ballot <p>Ypsilanti voters will decide a ballot issue next week regarding possession of marijuana.&nbsp; Hear more from WEMU's Bob Eccles.</p><p></p><p></p> Wed, 31 Oct 2012 12:54:19 +0000 Bob Eccles 21400 at http://wemu.org Ypsi City Manager Presents Five-Year Sustainability Plan http://wemu.org/post/ypsi-city-manager-presents-five-year-sustainability-plan <p></p> Wed, 31 Oct 2012 02:57:56 +0000 Robert Eccles 21384 at http://wemu.org Ypsi City Manager Presents Five-Year Sustainability Plan State Grant to Extend YMCA Services http://wemu.org/post/state-grant-extend-ymca-services <p>A state grant will allow the Ann Arbor YMCA to serve more Ypsilanti and Willow Run students.&nbsp; Hear more from WEMU's Andrew Cluley.</p><p></p><p></p> Tue, 30 Oct 2012 17:38:50 +0000 Andrew Cluley 21361 at http://wemu.org About 30 People Attend Last Public Forum On Proposed Ypsilanti-Willow Run Consolidation http://wemu.org/post/about-30-people-attend-last-public-forum-proposed-ypsilanti-willow-run-consolidation <p>A crowd of about 30 people&nbsp;attended&nbsp;last night's public forum on the proposed consolidation of the Willow Run and Ypsilanti school districts.&nbsp; WEMU's Bob Eccles reports on&nbsp; the last of these meetings before voters decide the issue November 6th.</p> Thu, 25 Oct 2012 02:16:38 +0000 Bob Eccles 21147 at http://wemu.org About 30 People Attend Last Public Forum On Proposed Ypsilanti-Willow Run Consolidation