right to work http://wemu.org en Road Funding Discussions Dredge Up 'Right To Work' http://wemu.org/post/road-funding-discussions-dredge-right-work <p><strong>'Right to work' part of discussions on roads package</strong><br /><br />Negotiations between Republicans and Democrats at the state Capitol over road funding may have resurrected the controversy over Michigan's right-to-work law.</p><p></p><p></p> Wed, 11 Jun 2014 09:24:24 +0000 Rick Pluta 47123 at http://wemu.org Road Funding Discussions Dredge Up 'Right To Work' Judge Rejects Right To Work Challenge http://wemu.org/post/judge-rejects-right-work-challenge <div>&nbsp;</div><div><span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;&nbsp;</span>&nbsp;&nbsp; &nbsp;DETROIT &nbsp;- A judge has rejected a challenge to a key portion of a Michigan law that allows workers to have a job without giving financial support to a union.</div><p> Tue, 01 Apr 2014 08:00:51 +0000 Associated Press 43707 at http://wemu.org Judge Rejects Right To Work Challenge Rallying Against Right to Work Law in Ann Arbor http://wemu.org/post/rallying-against-right-work-law-ann-arbor <p>Michigan's right-to-work law is now in effect, and opponents of the new law, including members from a wide variety of labor organizations, held a rally Thursday night in downtown Ann Arbor.&nbsp; Hear more from WEMU's Andrew Cluley.</p><p></p> Fri, 29 Mar 2013 13:25:38 +0000 Andrew Cluley 27420 at http://wemu.org Rallying Against Right to Work Law in Ann Arbor Ann Arbor Council Approves AFSCME Contract http://wemu.org/post/ann-arbor-council-approves-afscme-contract <p>Ann Arbor's city council has approved a new four-year deal with American Federation of State, County, and Municipal Employees local 369 just before the state's new right-to-work law takes effect.&nbsp; Hear more from WEMU's Andrew Cluley.&nbsp;</p><p></p> Tue, 26 Mar 2013 13:23:32 +0000 Andrew Cluley 27247 at http://wemu.org Ann Arbor Council Approves AFSCME Contract County Approves Long-Term Contracts Ahead of RTW http://wemu.org/post/county-approves-long-term-contracts-ahead-rtw <p>Before Michigan's right-to-work law takes effect later this month, the Washtenaw County&nbsp; Board&nbsp; of Commissioners has approved new long-term contracts with nearly all of the unions representing county workers.&nbsp; Similar policy for non-union employees has been set as well.&nbsp; Hear more from WEMU's Andrew Cluley.</p><p></p><p></p> Thu, 21 Mar 2013 12:44:47 +0000 Andrew Cluley 27041 at http://wemu.org County Approves Long-Term Contracts Ahead of RTW County Officially Opposes State's Right-to-Work Law http://wemu.org/post/county-officially-opposes-states-right-work-law <p>Washtenaw County's Board of Commissioners has approved a resolution opposing the state's right-to-work law.&nbsp; Hear more from WEMU's Andrew Cluley.</p><p></p> Thu, 21 Feb 2013 14:41:33 +0000 Andrew Cluley 25839 at http://wemu.org County Officially Opposes State's Right-to-Work Law Commissioners Oppose Michigan's RTW Status http://wemu.org/post/commissioners-oppose-michigans-rtw-status <p>Washtenaw County's Board of Commissioners Ways and Means Committee has approved a resolution opposing the state's right-to-work legislation, and calling on the county to enter into early negotiations to extend union security provisions before the RTW law takes effect.&nbsp; Hear more from WEMU's Andrew Cluley.</p><p></p> Thu, 07 Feb 2013 13:47:20 +0000 Andrew Cluley 25241 at http://wemu.org County Dems Blast Right to Work Legislation http://wemu.org/post/county-dems-blast-right-work-legislation <p>Washtenaw County Democrats are not happy with the way right-to-work legislation was rushed through the state house Thursday.&nbsp; WEMU's Bob Eccles has the story.</p><p></p> Fri, 07 Dec 2012 14:24:24 +0000 Clark Smith 22860 at http://wemu.org