school board http://wemu.org en Ypsilanti and Willow Run School Board Meets http://wemu.org/post/ypsilanti-and-willow-run-school-board-meets <p>The school board managing both the Ypsilanti and Willow Run school districts met last night to take care of some business for the Ypsilanti school district.&nbsp; Hear more from WEMU's Bob Eccles.</p><p></p><p></p> Tue, 04 Dec 2012 16:46:48 +0000 Bob Eccles 22726 at http://wemu.org Ypsilanti and Willow Run School Board Meets New Method For Measuring Student Achievement http://wemu.org/post/new-method-measuring-student-achievement <p>Ann Arbor schools have&nbsp; a new way of looking at student achievement across the district.&nbsp; Hear more from WEMU's Andrew Cluley.</p> Thu, 11 Oct 2012 17:35:43 +0000 Andrew Cluley 20604 at http://wemu.org Board Rejects Outsourcing of Lunch Hour Supervisors http://wemu.org/post/board-rejects-outsourcing-lunch-hour-supervisors <p>The Ann Arbor school board has rejected a proposed contract to outsource lunch hour supervisors.&nbsp;&nbsp; Hear more from WEMU's Andrew Cluley.</p> Thu, 11 Oct 2012 17:32:45 +0000 Andrew Cluley 20603 at http://wemu.org WISD Taking Applications for New Consolidated Board http://wemu.org/post/wisd-taking-applications-new-consolidated-board <p>If you're interested in serving on a consolidated Ypsilanti-Willow Run school board, the Washtenaw Intermediate School District is taking applications.&nbsp; Hear more from WEMU's Bob Eccles.</p> Tue, 02 Oct 2012 13:35:05 +0000 Bob Eccles 20223 at http://wemu.org Busing Will Continue for After-School Programs http://wemu.org/post/busing-will-continue-after-school-programs <p>Ann Arbor middle school students who participate in</p><p>after-school programs will still have busing options in</p><p>the fall.&nbsp;&nbsp;</p> Mon, 30 Jul 2012 15:59:14 +0000 Andrew Cluley 17226 at http://wemu.org Board Ratifies Teachers' Contract http://wemu.org/post/board-ratifies-teachers-contract <p>Ypsilanti teachers take a pay cut and will</p><p>pay more for health insurance.</p> Tue, 26 Jun 2012 14:07:24 +0000 Bob Eccles 15732 at http://wemu.org Board Nixes Privatization Plan http://wemu.org/post/board-nixes-privatization-plan <p>Ypsilanti&#39;s school board says it will not&nbsp;</p><p>privatize custodial services.&nbsp;&nbsp;</p> Wed, 20 Jun 2012 13:29:09 +0000 Bob Eccles 15477 at http://wemu.org A2 School Board Approves New Budget http://wemu.org/post/a2-school-board-approves-new-budget <p>2012-2013 spending plan restores counseling and</p><p>achievement programs.</p> Thu, 14 Jun 2012 15:04:28 +0000 Bob Eccles 15203 at http://wemu.org New Budget Still $4 Million in the Red http://wemu.org/post/new-budget-still-4-million-red <p>The Ypsilanti school district&#39;s new budget still</p><p>has a huge deficit.</p> Tue, 12 Jun 2012 13:10:54 +0000 Bob Eccles 15093 at http://wemu.org Board Gets Bids for Private Custodial Services http://wemu.org/post/board-gets-bids-private-custodial-services <p>Ypsilanti school board goes forward with plan to privatize</p><p>custodial services.</p> Wed, 30 May 2012 14:21:31 +0000 Andrew Cluley 14519 at http://wemu.org No Cuts Yet in A2 Schools Transportation Budget http://wemu.org/post/no-cuts-yet-a2-schools-transportation-budget <p>School board sets up work group to review district&#39;s</p><p>spending on transportation.&nbsp;&nbsp; Future cuts possible.</p> Fri, 25 May 2012 13:21:20 +0000 Andrew Cluley 14353 at http://wemu.org Board May Use Reserves to Shore Up Budget http://wemu.org/post/board-may-use-reserves-shore-budget <p>Ann Arbor school board holds public hearing on new budget.</p> Thu, 24 May 2012 13:09:59 +0000 Andrew Cluley 14307 at http://wemu.org Union Says School Board Betrayed Workers http://wemu.org/post/union-says-school-board-betrayed-workers <p>Ypsilanti school board to privatize custodial work.</p> Tue, 15 May 2012 23:28:28 +0000 Bob Eccles 13914 at http://wemu.org Many Fear Budget Will Hurt At-Risk Students http://wemu.org/post/many-fear-budget-will-hurt-risk-students <p>Ann Arbor school board holds budget forum.</p> Tue, 15 May 2012 23:24:27 +0000 Andrew Cluley 13913 at http://wemu.org Roberto Clement Move Opposed http://wemu.org/post/roberto-clement-move-opposed <p>Possible move of Roberto Clemente Student Development Center</p><p>faces strong opposition.</p> Thu, 10 May 2012 13:34:39 +0000 Andrew Cluley 13671 at http://wemu.org Board Approves Deficit Reduction Plan http://wemu.org/post/board-approves-deficit-reduction-plan <p>Deficit reduction plan approved by the Ypsilanti school board will close one school.</p> Tue, 08 May 2012 14:14:37 +0000 Bob Eccles 13558 at http://wemu.org Board Rejects Deficit Reduction Plan http://wemu.org/post/board-rejects-deficit-reduction-plan <p>The Ypsilanti school board wants changes in a proposed deficit reduction plan.</p><p>The Ypsilanti school board opposes plan to close three schools to help eliminate budget deficit.</p> Thu, 03 May 2012 13:41:17 +0000 Bob Eccles 13354 at http://wemu.org School Board to Consider Changing School Day Start Times http://wemu.org/post/school-board-consider-changing-school-day-start-times <p>High school classes could start later, but not until next year.</p> Wed, 02 May 2012 15:28:40 +0000 Andrew Cluley 13295 at http://wemu.org District Facing Millions in Budget Cuts http://wemu.org/post/district-facing-millions-budget-cuts <p>Ann Arbor&#39;s school board is considering three budget scenarios. Thu, 26 Apr 2012 13:16:18 +0000 Andrew Cluley 13031 at http://wemu.org School Board Considers Cuts in Transportation http://wemu.org/post/school-board-considers-cuts-transportation <p>The Ypsilanti School district is looking for ways to cut spending and save money on transportation.</p> Tue, 24 Apr 2012 18:59:42 +0000 Bob Eccles 12931 at http://wemu.org Teacher Layoffs Loom in Ann Arbor Schools' Budget Proposals http://wemu.org/post/teacher-layoffs-loom-ann-arbor-schools-budget-proposals <p>The Ann Arbor school district could cut between 32 and 64 teachers as the school board considers three budget proposals for the next fiscal year.</p> Thu, 19 Apr 2012 13:49:05 +0000 Andrew Cluley 12707 at http://wemu.org District Consolidation Effort Will Move Forward http://wemu.org/post/district-consolidation-effort-will-move-forward <p>Efforts to unify the Ypsilanti and Willow Run school districts will continue.&nbsp;&nbsp; School boards for both districts have approved a resolution to continue to work toward consolidation.</p> Tue, 17 Apr 2012 13:47:09 +0000 Andrew Cluley 12604 at http://wemu.org School Boards Hold Joint Meeting Tonight http://wemu.org/post/school-boards-hold-joint-meeting-tonight <p>The Ypsilanti and Willow Run school boards meet tonight to begin the process of consolidating the two districts.</p> Mon, 16 Apr 2012 19:03:30 +0000 Bob Eccles 12560 at http://wemu.org