politics http://wemu.org en Ypsilanti Attorney Seeks Democratic Nomination in 12th Congressional District http://wemu.org/post/ypsilanti-attorney-seeks-democratic-nomination-12th-congressional-district <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">A prominent </span>Ypsilanti<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> Attorney will seek to fill the vacancy being created by the retirement of U-S Representative <a href="http://dingell.house.gov/">John </a></span><a href="http://dingell.house.gov/">Dingell</a><span style="line-height: 1.5;">. Democrat <a href="http://www.attyraymullins.com/">Raymond Mullins </a>has announced his candidacy for the </span><span style="line-height: 1.5;">12</span><sup>th</sup><span style="line-height: 1.5;"> District Congressional seat that’s been held by the 87-year old </span>Dingell<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> for nearly 60-years. &nbsp;</span></p><p></p><p> Thu, 27 Mar 2014 08:43:35 +0000 David Fair 43473 at http://wemu.org Ypsilanti Attorney Seeks Democratic Nomination in 12th Congressional District Debbie Dingell Officially Kicks Off Congressional Campaign http://wemu.org/post/debbie-dingell-officially-kicks-congressional-campaign <div>Debbie Dingell formally announced today she's running for the 12th Congressional seat her husband has held for nearly 60 years. &nbsp;Dingell had kick-off events in Dearborn, Ann Arbor, and Ypsilanti.</div><div> Fri, 28 Feb 2014 23:11:55 +0000 Andrew Cluley & David Fair & Taylor Pinson 42214 at http://wemu.org Debbie Dingell Officially Kicks Off Congressional Campaign Stuart Hall, 'Godfather Of Multiculturalism,' Dies http://wemu.org/post/stuart-hall-godfather-multiculturalism-dies <p>Sociologist and public intellectual Stuart Hall, who helped shape conversations about race and gender in Britain and around the world, has died at 82. For decades, the Jamaican-born Hall was also a fixture in leftist politics.</p><p>Hall, who died in England Monday, was diabetic and had been ill for some time.</p><p>NPR's Neda Ulaby filed this report for our Newscast unit:</p> Mon, 10 Feb 2014 22:03:17 +0000 Bill Chappell 41366 at http://wemu.org Lawmakers Debate Budget, Student Loan Tax Credit http://wemu.org/post/lawmakers-debate-budget-student-loan-tax-credit <p> Fri, 07 Feb 2014 00:30:00 +0000 Bob Eccles 41211 at http://wemu.org Governor Rick Snyder Launches Re-election Bid http://wemu.org/post/governor-rick-snyder-launches-re-election-bid <blockquote><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Governor Rick Snyder says Michigan's economic recovery is just starting and he wants four more years to finish the job. The governor formally launched his reelection campaign with stops in Detroit, Lansing, and Grand Rapids. Day Two of the governor's reelection announcement tour has stops scheduled in Traverse City,&nbsp;</span><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Frankenmuth</span><span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;and at Oakland Community College.</span></p></blockquote><p> Tue, 04 Feb 2014 03:38:19 +0000 Bob Eccles 41056 at http://wemu.org Governor Rick Snyder Launches Re-election Bid Ann Arbor Officials Seek Conflict Of Interest Policy For City Council Members http://wemu.org/post/ann-arbor-officials-seek-conflict-interest-policy-city-council-members <p><span style="font-family: 'trebuchet ms', sans-serif; font-size: 16px; line-height: normal;">An Ann Arbor City Council member plans to introduce a resolution to create a conflict of interest policy for council members at their next meeting. &nbsp;</span></p><p><span style="font-family: 'trebuchet ms', sans-serif; font-size: 16px; line-height: normal;">WEMU's Andrew Cluley has more:</span><br style="font-family: 'trebuchet ms', sans-serif; font-size: 16px; line-height: normal;" />&nbsp;</p><p> Tue, 29 Oct 2013 18:02:42 +0000 Andrew Cluley 36975 at http://wemu.org Ann Arbor Officials Seek Conflict Of Interest Policy For City Council Members Byrnes Gets Early Start In Bid To Win 7th Congressional District Seat http://wemu.org/post/byrnes-gets-early-start-bid-win-7th-congressional-district-seat <p>The election isn't until November of 2014, but <a href="http://pambyrnesforcongress.com/">Pam Byrnes</a> is working to make in-roads with the 7th Congressional District constituency now.&nbsp; The former Democratic State Representative is seeking to unseat incumbent Republican Tim Walberg. &nbsp;</p><p>As WEMU's Bob Eccles reports, Byrnes yesterday wrapped up a three-day tour of the seven counties that comprise the 7th district.</p><p> Tue, 10 Sep 2013 11:13:14 +0000 Bob Eccles 34771 at http://wemu.org Byrnes Gets Early Start In Bid To Win 7th Congressional District Seat Dingell Calls for Passage of Violence Against Women Act http://wemu.org/post/dingell-calls-passage-violence-against-women-act <p>U-S Representative John Dingell joined Washtenaw County officials and local domestic violence groups at Safehouse yesterday to call for the re-authorization of the Violence Against Women act.&nbsp; Hear more from WEMU's Andrew Cluley.</p><p></p> Fri, 22 Feb 2013 14:26:24 +0000 Andrew Cluley 25893 at http://wemu.org Dingell Calls for Passage of Violence Against Women Act Rutledge Wants More Help for Local Governments http://wemu.org/post/rutledge-wants-more-help-local-governments <p>A local state legislator says he'll be closely watching Governor Snyder's state-of-the-state address tonight, hoping to hear a plan for more help for struggling local governments.&nbsp; Hear more from WEMU's Bob Eccles.</p><p></p> Wed, 16 Jan 2013 14:34:08 +0000 Bob Eccles 24315 at http://wemu.org Ann Arbor as an Example of Good Government http://wemu.org/post/ann-arbor-example-good-government <p>As Governor Rick Snyder gives his state-of-the-state address tonight, Ann Arbor's Mayor wants the state to look at Ann Arbor as an example of good government.&nbsp; Hear more from WEMU's Andrew Cluley.</p><p></p> Wed, 16 Jan 2013 14:29:46 +0000 Andrew Cluley 24314 at http://wemu.org Saying Goodbye - Federal and State Relationships http://wemu.org/post/saying-goodbye-federal-and-state-relationships <p><a href="http://www.aclu.org/" target="_blank">The American Civil Liberties Union</a><br /><a href="http://www.theusconstitution.org/" target="_blank">The Constitutional Accountability Center</a></p><p>On this last regular episode of the 8-season Lynn Rivers Show, Lynn talks to Carrie Moss from the American Civil Liberties Union and Elizabeth Wydra from the Constitutional Accountability Center about health care reform and gay marriage, focusing on the constitutional relationship between the state and federal governments.</p> Wed, 30 May 2012 13:36:50 +0000 Lynn Rivers 14516 at http://wemu.org Saying Goodbye - Federal and State Relationships The White House and the Media and the Foreclosure Debacle http://wemu.org/post/white-house-and-media-and-foreclosure-debacle <p>Inside the White House and holding on to your house on this week&#39;s Lynn Rivers Show from WEMU. Lynn&#39;s guests this week are Mother Jones&#39; Washington Bureau Chief David Corn, and Pro Publica investigative reporter Paul Kiel.<br />&nbsp;</p> Tue, 17 Apr 2012 13:40:10 +0000 Lynn Rivers 12602 at http://wemu.org The White House and the Media and the Foreclosure Debacle