budget http://wemu.org en Local Governments May Get Smaller Boost Than Hoped http://wemu.org/post/local-governments-may-get-smaller-boost-hoped <p style="color: rgb(51, 51, 51); font-family: Verdana, Helvetica, Arial, sans-serif, Geneva; font-size: 11px; line-height: 15px;">Local governments in Michigan may get a smaller increase in state revenue sharing than hoped.</p><p style="color: rgb(51, 51, 51); font-family: Verdana, Helvetica, Arial, sans-serif, Geneva; font-size: 11px; line-height: 15px;">Gov. Rick Snyder proposed a 15 percent increase in statutory shared revenue. But House Republicans say a budget agreement includes a 5.5 percent boost in statutory revenue sharing for cities, townships and villages — not including $8 million for financially distressed local governments.</p><p style="color: rgb(51, 51, 51); font-family: Verdana, Helvetica, Arial, sans-serif, Geneva; font-size: 11px; line-height: 15px;">Municipalities also are expected to get 3 percent more next year in revenue-sharing payments guaranteed under Michigan's constitution. A House-Senate committee plans to approve the budget plan Monday.</p><p style="color: rgb(51, 51, 51); font-family: Verdana, Helvetica, Arial, sans-serif, Geneva; font-size: 11px; line-height: 15px;">The Snyder administration said last week revenue sharing would stay "pretty close" to what Snyder proposed. But it's looking like that may not be the case after revenue estimates were revised downward recently.</p><p style="color: rgb(51, 51, 51); font-family: Verdana, Helvetica, Arial, sans-serif, Geneva; font-size: 11px; line-height: 15px;">Snyder's plan to significantly boost payments to counties is intact.</p><p> Mon, 09 Jun 2014 13:49:47 +0000 Associated Press 47027 at http://wemu.org Governor Rick Snyder's 2014 Budget Overview http://wemu.org/post/governor-rick-snyders-2014-budget-overview <p>Governor Snyder sat down with Michigan Public Radio’s Rick Pluta to talk about his budget plan. Thu, 06 Feb 2014 10:46:37 +0000 Patrick Campion 41165 at http://wemu.org Governor Rick Snyder's 2014 Budget Overview County Budget Approved by Ways and Means Committee http://wemu.org/post/county-budget-approved-ways-and-means-committee <p>The Washtenaw County Sheriff says if the proposed four year county budget is approved he will likely be unable to maintain current service levels if he hits budget targets. &nbsp;</p><p>The<strong> <a href="http://www.ewashtenaw.org/">County Commissioners Ways and Means Committee</a> voted 7 &nbsp;to 2 &nbsp;</strong>for the budget last night that ranges from $103 million in 2014 to $106.5 million in 2017.&nbsp;</p><p>Sheriff Jerry Clayton says he hopes his warning on possible service reductions starts a community conversation because he won't be running up overtime.&nbsp; Clayton says he proposed a gradual reduction in the sheriff department returning a half-million dollars to the county annually.&nbsp;</p><p>The county commissioners will have a public hearing on the budget proposal in two weeks.</p><p> Thu, 07 Nov 2013 08:53:33 +0000 Andrew Cluley & Andrew 37393 at http://wemu.org County Budget Approved by Ways and Means Committee County Moves Toward Four-Year Budget Cycle http://wemu.org/post/county-moves-toward-four-year-budget-cycle <p>For the first time ever,&nbsp; Washtenaw County officials will be preparing a four-year budget proposal.&nbsp;&nbsp; County commissioners voted 7 to 2 Wednesday night in favor of a resolution directing the county's administration to develop a quadrennial budget.&nbsp;&nbsp; Hear more from WEMU's Andrew Cluley.</p><p></p> Thu, 02 May 2013 12:53:07 +0000 Andrew Cluley 28835 at http://wemu.org County Moves Toward Four-Year Budget Cycle Cutting A2 Schools $8.7 Million Deficit http://wemu.org/post/cutting-a2-schools-87-million-deficit <p>Ann Arbor public schools superintendent Pat Green's proposed budget cuts of $8.7 million for next school year include a reduction of 75 employees.&nbsp; It's the starting point for budget discussions, as we hear from WEMU's Andrew Cluley.</p><p></p> Thu, 25 Apr 2013 13:43:54 +0000 Andrew Cluley 28510 at http://wemu.org Ann Arbor City Budget Preview http://wemu.org/post/ann-arbor-city-budget-preview <p>Ann Arbor City Administrator Steve Powers has given city council a preview of his proposed budgets for fiscal years 2014 and 2015.&nbsp; Hear more on the spending plans from WEMU's Andrew Cluley.</p><p></p><p></p> Tue, 16 Apr 2013 14:11:25 +0000 Andrew Cluley 28122 at http://wemu.org Ann Arbor City Budget Preview Budget Picture Improves for A2 Schools http://wemu.org/post/budget-picture-improves-a2-schools <p>The budget situation for next year is not quite as bad as first projected for the Ann Arbor school district.&nbsp; School administrators released the latest revenue projections Wednesday night.&nbsp; Hear more from WEMU's Andrew Cluley.</p><p></p> Thu, 11 Apr 2013 12:18:55 +0000 Andrew Cluley 27911 at http://wemu.org Washtenaw County Posts 2012 Budget Surplus http://wemu.org/post/washtenaw-county-posts-2012-budget-surplus <p>Washtenaw County finished 2012 in a bit better budget position than expected, giving the county some additional money to use the current fiscal year if needed.&nbsp; Hear more from WEMU's Andrew Cluley.</p><p></p> Mon, 25 Mar 2013 13:28:47 +0000 Andrew Cluley 27195 at http://wemu.org Budget Dialogue Sessions Start Later This Month http://wemu.org/post/budget-dialogue-sessions-start-later-month <p>As part of the timeline for developing a budget for the next school year, small groups of Ann Arbor school board members will meet with community members in dialogue sessions.&nbsp; Hear more from WEMU's Andrew Cluley.</p><p></p> Fri, 15 Mar 2013 14:31:24 +0000 Andrew Cluley 26815 at http://wemu.org Council Readies Budget Plan and Priorities http://wemu.org/post/council-readies-budget-plan-and-priorities <p>Ann Arbor's city council discussed budget impacts from work plans created around council's five priority areas at a work session Monday night.&nbsp; Hear more from WEMU's Andrew Cluley.</p><p></p> Tue, 12 Mar 2013 12:45:59 +0000 Andrew Cluley 26652 at http://wemu.org Schreiber Delivers State-of-the-City Address http://wemu.org/post/schreiber-delivers-state-city-address <p>Ypsilanti Mayor Paul Schreiber gave his state-of-the-city address Tuesday night.&nbsp; Hear more from WEMU's Bob Eccles.&nbsp;</p><p></p><p>Full interview:</p><p></p> Wed, 06 Mar 2013 14:38:57 +0000 Bob Eccles 26395 at http://wemu.org Schreiber Delivers State-of-the-City Address A2 City Budget Preview http://wemu.org/post/a2-city-budget-preview <p>Ann Arbor city staff gave an overview of of the impacts of "status quo" budgets for the 2014 and 2015 fiscal years to city council Monday night.&nbsp;&nbsp; Hear more from WEMU's Andrew Cluley.</p><p></p> Tue, 26 Feb 2013 14:25:28 +0000 Andrew Cluley 26035 at http://wemu.org A2 Schools Plan Budget Campaign http://wemu.org/post/a2-schools-plan-budget-campaign <p>As the Ann Arbor school district addresses an expected 17 million dollar budget shortfall next year, the school board is planning a new budget campaign.&nbsp; Hear more from WEMU's Andrew Cluley.</p><p></p> Thu, 13 Dec 2012 14:27:45 +0000 Andrew Cluley 23085 at http://wemu.org Ypsi School Board Prepares For Serious Budget Cuts http://wemu.org/post/ypsi-school-board-prepares-serious-budget-cuts <p>The Ypsilanti school board is making plans to consider serious budget cuts.&nbsp; As WEMU's Bob Eccles reports, the plans hinge on what happens at the polls November 6th.</p> Tue, 09 Oct 2012 15:53:54 +0000 Bob Eccles 20489 at http://wemu.org Ypsi School Board Prepares For Serious Budget Cuts Ypsilanti Schools Budget Struggles http://wemu.org/post/ypsilanti-schools-budget-struggles <p>The start of the new academic year is approaching, and officials in the Ypsilanti district are continue to work &nbsp;at securing&nbsp;September&nbsp;paychecks . WEMU&#39;s Andrew Cluley reports.</p> Tue, 14 Aug 2012 13:48:18 +0000 Andrew Cluley 18034 at http://wemu.org Ypsilanti Schools Budget Struggles A2 School Board Approves New Budget http://wemu.org/post/a2-school-board-approves-new-budget <p>2012-2013 spending plan restores counseling and</p><p>achievement programs.</p> Thu, 14 Jun 2012 15:04:28 +0000 Bob Eccles 15203 at http://wemu.org New Budget Still $4 Million in the Red http://wemu.org/post/new-budget-still-4-million-red <p>The Ypsilanti school district&#39;s new budget still</p><p>has a huge deficit.</p> Tue, 12 Jun 2012 13:10:54 +0000 Bob Eccles 15093 at http://wemu.org Board May Use Reserves to Shore Up Budget http://wemu.org/post/board-may-use-reserves-shore-budget <p>Ann Arbor school board holds public hearing on new budget.</p> Thu, 24 May 2012 13:09:59 +0000 Andrew Cluley 14307 at http://wemu.org A2 Council Approves New Budget http://wemu.org/post/a2-council-approves-new-budget <p>Budget includes no reductions in police and fire services.</p> Tue, 22 May 2012 13:54:49 +0000 Andrew Cluley 14197 at http://wemu.org Many Fear Budget Will Hurt At-Risk Students http://wemu.org/post/many-fear-budget-will-hurt-risk-students <p>Ann Arbor school board holds budget forum.</p> Tue, 15 May 2012 23:24:27 +0000 Andrew Cluley 13913 at http://wemu.org District Facing Millions in Budget Cuts http://wemu.org/post/district-facing-millions-budget-cuts <p>Ann Arbor&#39;s school board is considering three budget scenarios. Thu, 26 Apr 2012 13:16:18 +0000 Andrew Cluley 13031 at http://wemu.org School Board Considers Cuts in Transportation http://wemu.org/post/school-board-considers-cuts-transportation <p>The Ypsilanti School district is looking for ways to cut spending and save money on transportation.</p> Tue, 24 Apr 2012 18:59:42 +0000 Bob Eccles 12931 at http://wemu.org EMU President Addresses Rising Costs http://wemu.org/post/emu-president-addresses-rising-costs <p>Eastern Michigan University President Susan Martin discusses college costs and more with WEMU&#39;s David Fair.</p> Fri, 20 Apr 2012 14:08:26 +0000 David Fair 12764 at http://wemu.org Teacher Layoffs Loom in Ann Arbor Schools' Budget Proposals http://wemu.org/post/teacher-layoffs-loom-ann-arbor-schools-budget-proposals <p>The Ann Arbor school district could cut between 32 and 64 teachers as the school board considers three budget proposals for the next fiscal year.</p> Thu, 19 Apr 2012 13:49:05 +0000 Andrew Cluley 12707 at http://wemu.org