Ypsilanti

News
8:54 am
Mon August 6, 2012

Ypsi-Willow Run Unification

The Collaboration and Communication Task Force that's been working out the particulars of consolidating the Ypsilanti and Willow Run School Districts rolled out its draft unification plan last week. As WEMU's Bob Eccles reports, the public has  two chances this week to learn more about the plan, and offer up suggestions of their own.

News
11:17 am
Wed August 1, 2012

Expanded Energy Savings Program

A program that makes it less expensive for homeowners to make energy savings improvements is being expanded. WEMU's Bob Eccles has the details.

Task force recomments consolidation vote
1:57 pm
Tue July 31, 2012

Consolidation question closer to ballot

The question of whether the Willow Run and Ypsilanti school districts should merge is one step closer to appearing on the fall ballot.  WEMU's Bob Eccles has details.

Education
12:01 pm
Mon July 30, 2012

Consolidation Plan to be Unveiled Tonight

Draft design plan for merging the Willow Run and

Ypsilanti School districts will be presented at a

public meeting tonight.

Transportation
9:07 am
Wed July 18, 2012

Street "Diet" for Some Ypsilanti Roads

Some roads in Ypsilanti may soon be going on a diet. 

WEMU's Bob Eccles explains.

Classic autos
9:12 am
Mon July 2, 2012

The Great Race Stops in Ypsilanti

Classic cars take over Depot Town on Sunday afternoon.

Read more
Education
10:07 am
Tue June 26, 2012

Board Ratifies Teachers' Contract

Ypsilanti teachers take a pay cut and will

pay more for health insurance.

Education
9:29 am
Wed June 20, 2012

Board Nixes Privatization Plan

Ypsilanti's school board says it will not 

privatize custodial services.  

Education
9:10 am
Tue June 12, 2012

New Budget Still $4 Million in the Red

The Ypsilanti school district's new budget still

has a huge deficit.

Transportation
9:22 am
Wed June 6, 2012

Ypsilanti Approves Regional Transit Agreement

Transit plan framework heads to county commission.

Transportation
10:23 am
Tue June 5, 2012

Transit Agreement Headed Back to Ypsilanti Council

Ann Arbor city council approves four-party

agreement after rejecting an amendment

added previously by Ypsilanti officials.

Education
10:21 am
Wed May 30, 2012

Board Gets Bids for Private Custodial Services

Ypsilanti school board goes forward with plan to privatize

custodial services.

Education
7:28 pm
Tue May 15, 2012

Union Says School Board Betrayed Workers

Ypsilanti school board to privatize custodial work.

Local Elections
9:49 am
Wed May 9, 2012

Tax and Millage Issues Rejected in Ypsilanti

Ypsilanti officials faced with deeper budget cuts after Tuesday's vote.

Education
10:14 am
Tue May 8, 2012

Board Approves Deficit Reduction Plan

Deficit reduction plan approved by the Ypsilanti school board will close one school.

Local Elections
11:34 am
Mon May 7, 2012

Income Tax and Millage on Tuesday's Ypsilanti Ballot

Ypsilanti voters will decide two ballot issues on Tuesday.

Environment
1:43 pm
Fri May 4, 2012

First Friday Focus on the Environment

Growing food locally is Growing Hope in Ypsilanti area.

Education
9:41 am
Thu May 3, 2012

Board Rejects Deficit Reduction Plan

The Ypsilanti school board wants changes in a proposed deficit reduction plan.

The Ypsilanti school board opposes plan to close three schools to help eliminate budget deficit.

Education
1:54 pm
Fri April 27, 2012

WISD Needs to Improve Busing Services

Survey shows dissatisfaction with school busing in three districts served by the WISD.

Education
2:59 pm
Tue April 24, 2012

School Board Considers Cuts in Transportation

The Ypsilanti School district is looking for ways to cut spending and save money on transportation.

Health Care
9:46 am
Thu April 19, 2012

Healthcare Help for Ypsilanti

Residents of Ypsilanti's "gateway community" should find it easier to gain access to healthcare options through a new program.

Pages